We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE only place to stay in Holmfirth”
Review of Old Bridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Certificate of Excellence
South Midlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“THE only place to stay in Holmfirth”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I researched where to stay when visiting Holmfirth and we took a chance on the Old Bridge Inn. We knew that its location is excellent and there is excellent road access & parking.
We had read reviews that slated this place - mainly due to the racket from the music venue next door /noisy punters exiting the place after gigs PLUS there being noise from patrons drinking & loudly boozing in the hotel bar /outside tables. I had checked if there was a gig `on` for the one night we were staying - fortunately not on this occasion! So we were lucky and no late night din AND the boozers left the hotel by 23.00hrs /school night, so we escaped that little delight also. The staff were the mostly friendly /helpful people, we chose to have dinner here - the menu /food was excellent very tasty & waitress very attentive but the wine list was at `London` prices.
At checkout I informed the staff that I`d repaired /attached the sink`s plug but that the bath`s plug chain hadn`t been there to re attach in the first place!

For the Tuesday night we stayed we had a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red600man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review and to know that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    272
    101
    45
    24
See reviews for
109
422
48
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed @ the old bridge when going to the Gary Numan gig next door, great location.
Staff are very friendly and welcoming. The refurbished restaurant and bar looks great and the food is locally sourced and tasty, service polite helpful and I found them all to have a good crack with. Shame the rooms weren't up to the same standard, they really do need bringing up to date. We were in room 20 at the back and found this to be too warm and noisy from some constant wering I could not sleep, we had taken ear plugs which helped with the noise. I found myself having to take a cold bath in the tiny bath just to cool off.
Ideal location for the Picturedrome next door and smack bang in the middle of the village with limited parking but there's plenty close by, only let down is the heat in the small tired rooms, go on Bulldog sort some air con out and splash out on room refurbs. Will defo stay again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alimored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather has been extremely hot but we do try our best by providing our guests with fans in their bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I cant believe there was another Susan G staying there at the same time on amazon....we had a fab time ....thank you...Tina & staff :).. room good... squeaky corridor floor boards... bathroom modern & & immaculate!..food lovely...staff amazing .attentivev& friendly... thank u Tina :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
A very big Happy Birthday from the team. We have passed on your feedback to our team and we are so pleased that you felt so well looked after. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

bought a voucher through Amazon, when we checked in the receptionist said : oh your the Amazon room; When we got to the room it was awful small, oppressive. small windows you had to stand on tiptoe to open.also the stairs to staff quarters went past the window and they could see straight into the room. the en suite was okay but was still Avacado a throw back to the eighties. We felt as if because it was an amazon offer we would put up with anything.The television didn't work either.These things may seem trivial but spoiled what was to be a nice few days away for myself and my husband.needless to say we only stayed one night. when we mentioned it to the receptionist we where met with a shrug of the shoulders. that said the breakfast was very nice, we most certainly will not be going back. also the parking is a problem

Room Tip: do not book an Amazon room it is right at the back small, claustrophobic with small windows so reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We do not, however, allocate specific rooms booked through Amazon. As well as our standard rooms we do have 2 executive rooms which guests can upgrade to should they wish. If you have any issues on your return, please do not hesitate to ask a member of the team for help as we always try our very best to resolve any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Thank you for making our stay in Holmfirth with you so enjoyable. We stayed last weekend when we went to the local Vineyard. The rooms are very comfortable and offer everything that you could possibly need for a weekend visit. Paul and all the staff are so friendly and really polite. We stayed and had our evening meal here and it was exceptional. Really really tasty and lots of it too. The breakfast was fantastic too, any thing you wanted, they would do for you. I would highly recommend eating here whether you are in Holmfirth for the day or the weekend. We will definitely be staying there again next time we are that way. Lovely Hotel, lovely restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially our food. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed with friends in two double rooms over easter when we were watching the half man half biscuit concert next door. the location is excellent, although there seemed to be only about ten car parking spaces meaning you probably had to park about two days before you needed your room. after eventually parking at the nearby co-op we booked in. the staff were nice, the room was fine, if a bit too hot, and the breakfast was lovely. the only gripe I have is that when I went down for a beer at teatime it appeared that somebody who looked like me must have been previously barred. that is the only explanation I can think of as to why I was completely ignored for ten minutes while everyone around me got drunk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Here at The Old Bridge Inn we pride ourselves on excellent service to all our guests and it was certainly not our intention to ignore you at the bar. Please accept our sincere apologies for what was a genuine mistake. I am pleased to read you found the staff and breakfast of a good standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family and I used to live in holmfirth and the Old Bridge has been around for yonks. It sits in the heart of the town and has fluctuated in it's quality over the years.

I have never stayed in the hotel rooms, but I visited for dinner this evening after hearing about the refurb. Overall, I was impressed and very happy with our experience.

The staff were young and friendly. Perhaps not necessarily the most knowledgable about the menu but definitely welcomed us with a smile on their face and approachability.

For a Monday night I was pleased to see how full it was (with a lovely clientele as well). The decor inside is warm and welcoming, definitely more modern and fresh than it's former self. The menu too is appealing with sharing platters, mini plates and a nice selection of main meals.

I opted for the giant toad in the hole.. It was probably the largest Yorkshire pudding I have ever seen! They do warn you in the menu with 'it's big!' written in brackets. It was well cooked, of good quality and tasty, yet extremely filling! Only approach with serious HUNGER!

My boyfriend had the steak pie which comes with the warning of 'it's huge!'... And it certainly was! I'm literally not joking when i say it could feed a family! He was thoroughly pleased and felt he was taking on a man vs. food challenge! The meat is locally sourced and the pie is generous with meat and veg (priced at a very reasonable £12!) Perhaps sharing a pie would make more sense, the couple beside us did that and seemed happy. My boyfriends mum had the BBQ sticky beef with sweet potato fries.. Again, a huge slab of quality meat. The value for money really is excellent.

I really would recommend this place. It has no pretences. It is simple, well cooked, locally sourced food in a fresh setting with ample outdoor seating! Just make sure you come hungry!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank coconut174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at Old Bridge Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. Due to the success of our hotel refurbishment we have now employed quite a few new members to our team so we are delighted to receive such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
2.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
539 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#8 of 12 in Holmfirth
86 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#10 of 12 in Holmfirth
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bridge Inn

Property: Old Bridge Inn
Address: Market Walk, Holmfirth HD9 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Bridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bridge Hotel
Old Bridge Inn Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing