We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sisterly mini break.”
Review of Elephant & Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant & Castle
Ranked #8 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“sisterly mini break.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

this is the second time i have been to the elephant and castle at holmfirth this year, the 1st with our luvly mam betty this time with my ace sis liz,it hasnt changed ,quaint little pub to stay in, the staff still friendly,breakfast yummy,dinner ,vegi lasagne delicious,plenty of shops for liz + my xmas shopping .we went to the little market the people there were so warm and pleasant with beautiful things to sell,mam,liz + i will be there again after the new year.see you all then.luv jayne + liz.xxxx..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    26
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
12
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rainy England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Elephant and Castle for one night on the 3rd August, as we had tickets for the Heaven 17 gig at the Picturedrome (Heaven 17 were great by the way!).

The village was busy when we arrived, as it was a beautiful day, and the pubs own car park was full, so we had to park on the central Towngate car park, which was 60p for 2 hours maximum stay. We were assured that the pub car park would empty later in the afternoon as the day trippers went home, this was the case, so I moved the car onto the pub car park which has space for 8 or so cars. You can also park for free against the river wall which is right across from the pub.

The pub itself is a proper old fashioned pub and fits well in the surroundings and just across the stream are Nora Batty’s steps.

We were welcomed and shown to our room. We stayed in room 2, which was a family room at the front of the pub, there is some traffic noise from the road, but as it’s a side road, it quietens down in the evening. The room was nice and spacious, with a wardrobe, a double and a single bed and it’s own bathroom with shower cubicle, full sized bath, washbasin and loo. The room was very clean and the bed linen was immaculate and the beds were comfortable. The room had a TV and tea/coffee making facilities.

The pub serves food until 2pm on a Saturday. We were particularly intrigued by the Yorkshire tapas, which turned out to be Yorkshire puddings, with various fillings and gravy, very clever!

The Picturedrome is about 5 minutes walk from the pub, so as others have said, it’s an ideal base if you’re here to watch a gig. There is a lack of eateries open late evening if you fancy a bite to eat, but there is a takeaway on the corner of the street when you walk back to the pub, which serves pizza, hamburgers, kebabs, KFC, chips etc.

Breakfast was served between 8:30 and 9:30, and you could choose to have cereal and/or a cooked full English breakfast, with tea or coffee and fresh orange juice and toast and jam or marmalade if you wanted it. Breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of toast for the two of us.

I would highly recommend the Elephant and Castle as an ideal place to stay if you are coming to watch a gig or for a weekend away. It was £62 for the room for the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tharweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

this is the first time to holmfirth for my mam + me ,the elephant and castle is a very nice + cosy place to stay and the staff were so friendly + t breakfast was cooked perfect i could have eaten it again.the people from holmfirth are so polite even if the dont know you from adam,the next time we stay will be for longer,so thank you all the staff at the elephant and castle for making it a perfect mini break for us.love betty + jayne.xx.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jayne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen5790, Owner at Elephant & Castle, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi Betty and Jayne,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for the positive comments about us and Holmfirth. Your thank you card is displayed in the bar and your comments have been passed onto the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back here to the Elephant and Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The staff were all lovely, we were welcomed warmly and seen off in the morning by friendly faces. We were allocated Flat 1 (not Room 1), which is a family-sized room with the private bath facilities just down the hall (the other rooms in the hotel are all en-suite). By far this was the largest inn or pub B&B room I have stayed in, with a comfy bed, plenty of storage and room to move. Breakfast was excellent, bacon cooked perfectly! Free parking adjacent to the pub and two minutes or less walking to the Picturedrome, shops, restaurants, etc. We will stay here again for sure, very pleased with the accommodation!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgrbleu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen5790, Landlady at Elephant & Castle, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate all reviews as they enable us to try and improve our service to you the customer.
Just to let you know, when you do return, you can request Flat 1 specifically for your stay if this is your preferred room.
Kind regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Great atmosphere, late bar, real ale, friendly staff, lovely Landlady Eileen, clean rooms, great breakfast seved by a lovely lady called Val
Would stay there every time I visit and I would tell everyone who is going to see a gig at the Pisturedrome to stay here as it's a 3 minute walk and great value. Like home from home

Room Tip: If you're going to see a gig at THE PICTUREDROME this is a 2 minute walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeanjeannie12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileen5790, Landlady at Elephant & Castle, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Apologies for the delay in responding to your feedback, due to a computer glitch we were unable to post anything earlier. Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion and for such a positive review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

stayed on a saturday night as it was close to the picturedrome for a concert we made very welcome by all the staff the bedroom was very warm with en suite breakfast was served downstairs was very nice with plenty to eat at sixty three quid for a couple it was not a bad price dinner time menu was very well priced to the other places in town i would defenetly recomend it and would have no hesitation in stopping again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephenb0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed here last night and chose it because of its proximity to the picturedrome, about 300 yds. Clean and pretty basic place to stay but that was reflected in the price of £63.00 for 2 people on a saturday night { we usually pay £80 at Sunnybank } The breakfast was good and is served downstairs in the bar area between 8.30 - 9.30 .
Would I stay again?..... yes,
But I would prefer to spend the extra money and stay at Sunnybank .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lekistyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.1 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
1.9 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#10 of 12 in Holmfirth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#3 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant & Castle

Property: Elephant & Castle
Address: Hollowgate, Holmfirth HD9 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elephant & Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Elephant & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant & Castle Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing