We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous converted barn.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tulip
Bolton England
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Fabulous converted barn.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just returned from Bullace Barn at Millhouse Green. What a find! The property is located down a long drive way just off the main road. The barn and surrounding farm and outbuildings are spotlessly tidy. The utility room is bigger than most folks kitchens! It's easier to use that door so you can dump all your boots and clutter in there. The kitchen is enormous!! There were soooooo many cupboards, I think we've out everything back in the wrong place! It was very well equipped.
The bedrooms, 2 downstairs and 1 upstairs were very comfortable with lovely furnishings. There are hairdryers with DIFFUSERS! Every curly haired girls dream! I would've liked a bedroom mirror upstairs to see how diffused my hair was...!
The lounge is huge. Plenty of space to chill out.
There wasn't hot water all day but there was a boost button somewhere to over ride the system so it wasn't a problem and we quite enjoyed hearing a particular family member scream under the cold tap.
The pool table is a bonus, we all had fun playing that, with the horses peering in to see what all the fuss was about. There's a few takeaway menus around, the Cherrydale delivered. We had the set menu for 3 and 2 but it was a bit bland and not enough. The White Heart pub and restaurant is a 10 min drive away. That was excellent food.
A 2 min walk left up the main rd brings you to the Teans Penine path. Good for cyclists and dog walkers.
All in all a fabulous break and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MikeClay
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great barn within easy reach of all local attractions”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Had a short weekend break mid March. Warm welcome from the owner, with a nice welcome pack of goodies waiting for us.

It's a very warm well set out barn with very nice bedrooms. All the rooms are finished to a high standard.

It's very easy to find, just off the main road with lots if good pubs around for a nice evening meal.

Would be happy to visit again.

Take some carrots with you and go feed the horses there very friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fozalina
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful barn”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here with friends and absolutely loved it to the point we didn't want to leave. Very peaceful, feel totally relaxed and loved the horses. The barn is beautifully decorated and we would thoroughly recommend it. Thank you for a lovely stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda T
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Barn that exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The photos of Bullace Barn on the web site really do not do the Barn justice and therefore upon arrival our first impressions were simply amazing! Everything is so much bigger than the pictures give the impression of being and the Barn is immaculate.

The large kitchen diner is great for the whole family to be together while meals are being cooked and for sitting and eating together but we also sat and played games around the table and spent most of our time together in the kitchen.

The kitchen is filled with pretty much every utensil you can think of and also included little extras like dishwasher tablets, fairy liquid, dishcloths, tea towels, tin foil, cling film, salt and pepper, food bags, bin liners and even some flowers, some of which we haven't had before when we have stayed elsewhere and we have stayed in a number of different places.

I had a couple of questions to ask the owner before we arrived and Jane was very helpful. The welcome basket was very nice and a thoughtful touch also.

The bedrooms are very comfortable with lots of storage, there is also a hairdryer provided and hand wash in the bathrooms.

The pool table is a great added bonus, this is at the centre of the Barn and has the floor to ceiling window. With the first floor being open plan you can look down over the pool table from the balcony and also watch the horses who are sometimes directly outside the window. There is also a games cupboard.

The living room is very comfortable and very light with lots of light from the large arched window coming in. The only criticism would be that the television is probably not in the best position, however we spent less than a couple of hours watching the television as we were either out and and about or sat together in the kitchen so it really wasn't a problem.

The large utility room was also great for storing all our boots, pushchair and for giving the dog a clean down after being out.

The owners seem to be taking notice of people's comments and feedback as the items suggested in other reviews are now in the Barn and we could not find fault with anything at all, as there really was everything we could possibly need. Before we went I did ring and enquire as to whether there was a slow cooker, as we like to use one for when we have days out walking, I was told that there wasn't one in the Barn at that time, that said, the owner had gone out and bought one before we arrived and the same also applied with my enquiry about a high chair. The owner Jane really couldn't have been more helpful before and during our stay.

The location is great with the Trans Pennine Trail literally 5 minutes walk from the Barn and there are lots of short walks also in the local area which were perfect for us with a 5 month old baby. There is lots more to explore than we had time for and I am sure we will return at some point in the future.

I would have to be really very picky if I were to criticise anything about the place as the Barn really did exceed our expectations and in our opinion is definitely worthy of its 4 stars.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Bullace Barn to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCBorne
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely barn, great views, fantastic pool/games room.”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Stayed for a week in early December with extended family & two dogs. Had a lovely time, the barn is great and the pool table area was fabulous. All the rooms are all decorated to a high standard and the bedding is very nice. The kitchen was very well equipped and the utility area is a real plus if you have dogs and have a lot of muddy boots and a pram. We had several lovely walks on the Penine Trail which is literally a very short walk away. The supermarket is close enough to have a short drive to but far away enough so you really do feel in the countryside.

Key collection was very simple and the owners were very helpful. the travel cot was great and a massive help not having to bring our own.

We have a few small gripes and they are only small and would defiantly not stop us from returning. These are as the utility room is so spacious it would be great if a highchair could be provided, these are cheap enough to buy (around £30) but a difficult item to take on holiday. Also the knives in the kitchen really need a sharpen (I know that sounds petty but it was difficult to cut roast meats) The main suggestion would be a blind in the kitchen (window to the floor) and the downstairs bathroom please. We do realise these windows cannot be seen from the farm house but it just felt a bit exposed. Oh just one other thing, it would be helpful if the name board sign was illuminated at night.

That said its a fab barn, and we sincerely hope to return. The welcome basket was the best we've had and we stay at a minimum 3 cottages a year and have done since the turn of the millennium.

Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Liked least: Lack of blinds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby Magna
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$90
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing