We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great girly getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ford Cottage

Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Ford Cottage Holmfirth private enclosed garden Garden with seating and dawn till dusk lighting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Ford Cottage Holmfirth private enclosed garden
Garden with seating and dawn till dusk lighting
Why not walk to nearby Digley resevoir, stunning in all seasons
Holme Moss through the clouds awaiting the Tour de France, about 2 miles away from Ford Cottage
Well equipped kitchen and there is a washer and dryer in the integral garage
Dining room - comfortable dining for 8 people plus window seat and 'comfy' chair
Log burning stove in the dining room
Entrance porch with Yorkshire settle
The cottage has views of this countryside from all the windows
Lounge with Smart TV
Window seat and log burning stove in the lounge
Relax with a book from the well stocked bookcase
Feel snug in comfort and style
Dream location for photographers, bird watchers, walkers, cyclists, poets .....
Hallway leading to the 4 bedrooms
Master bedroom with walk in wardrobe and en suite wet room
Master bedroom en suite wet room
Large double room with Smart TV
Fantastic views from the double room
Family bathroom with bath and separate shower
Full sized bunks each with individual adjustable reading lights
Dog shower in the garage - also suitable for bikes, wellies and plenty of drying space in the garage
Local blacksmith custom made gates lead into the garden with seating and shady areas.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michelle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great girly getaway!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Every year myself and a group of 'old' uni friends make the effort to have a long weekend away, this year we chose 'The Ford Cottage' and we weren't disappointed! The cottage is beautiful, well equipped, has stunning views and is so homely - what more could you want!

On our first night we ate at the pub next door which was great! The following day we went for a walk (to clear our heads!) and then ventured down into Holmfirth for lunch and a look around the shops, we ended up booking our evening meal at a lovely little tapas restaurant! The rest of the weekend we relaxed and ate at the cottage although we did manage to squeeze in a few trips to other local pubs (yes we were trying to relive our uni days!).

This cottage has everything you need for a relaxing but fun getaway and I will definitely be back with family so that we can explore the area further and go back to some of the lovely local pubs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris-158...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in July 2013

We all had a fantastic stay at the beautiful Ford Cottage in the Summer to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. 8 of us stayed and there was more than enough room for us all to stay in the cottage! Kim and David the owners were very accommodating and a pleasure to deal with.

On the friday we enjoyed a long walk around Digley Reservoir with our dogs and picked fresh bilberries, which we made great use of to make a scrumptious crumble when we arrived back at the Cottage.

In the evening there was a great selection of board games to play after a lovely meal at the local pub next door to the cottage.

Being keen cyclists, on the Saturday the weather again was very nice and we went on a long bike ride around Holmfirth and made sure we cycled parts of the upcoming 2014 Tour De France route!

We were so happy with the stay we have already booked again for next Summer for a whole week as there is so much more walking and cycling we want to do.

Thanks for a great short break!

Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House was stunning and surrounding areas beautiful
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
177CAROLE
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STUNNING HOLIDAY HOME WITH AMAZING VIEWS”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013

This house caters for all ages,situated near to a reservoir for good walks,
the house is beautifully appointed with all amenities,
and lots of games for family fun,with the added bonus of being next door
to a pub/restaurant with very good food.
I would not hesitate to recommend for a short break or holiday.

Robinson and Holmes family from Liverpool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz039
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Literally could not be better!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Arriving at Ford Cottage was one of those "WOW" moments. It was wild and rainy outside but we entered to find the most perfect, warm, spotlessly clean house which made us feel so welcome. The owners had thought of everything - Christmas decorations and a tree, logs for the fire, a bottle of wine - it was such a delight. A really cleverly designed kitchen which made everything easy, all the little details like dishwasher tablets and bin liners which are so often missing - everything was there. The icing on the cake was the Ford Inn right next door where we went for all our evening meals. Excellent.
Highest recommendation! Go to Ford Cottage now for a genuine feel-good experience!
Rozalyn Thomson

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: It was all good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$204
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing