We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded our expectations”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ford Cottage

Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Ford Cottage Holmfirth private enclosed garden Garden with seating and dawn till dusk lighting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Ford Cottage Holmfirth surrounded by beautiful open countryside
Ford Cottage Holmfirth private enclosed garden
Garden with seating and dawn till dusk lighting
Why not walk to nearby Digley resevoir, stunning in all seasons
Holme Moss through the clouds awaiting the Tour de France, about 2 miles away from Ford Cottage
Well equipped kitchen and there is a washer and dryer in the integral garage
Dining room - comfortable dining for 8 people plus window seat and 'comfy' chair
Log burning stove in the dining room
Entrance porch with Yorkshire settle
The cottage has views of this countryside from all the windows
Lounge with Smart TV
Window seat and log burning stove in the lounge
Relax with a book from the well stocked bookcase
Feel snug in comfort and style
Dream location for photographers, bird watchers, walkers, cyclists, poets .....
Hallway leading to the 4 bedrooms
Master bedroom with walk in wardrobe and en suite wet room
Master bedroom en suite wet room
Large double room with Smart TV
Fantastic views from the double room
Family bathroom with bath and separate shower
Full sized bunks each with individual adjustable reading lights
Dog shower in the garage - also suitable for bikes, wellies and plenty of drying space in the garage
Local blacksmith custom made gates lead into the garden with seating and shady areas.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
313Rachae...
United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked our stay through Holiday Lettings who were more than helpful in the lead up to our weekend, providing us with welcome details and regular updates. I stayed here with 6 of my girlfriends for a relaxing but fun weekend away. From the moment we arrived we were more than impressed with the cleanliness and style of the cottage. It is in the perfect location! We took the 30 minute walk into the village and also ate at the Ford Inn next door, where we were welcomed by very friendly staff and ate delicious, traditional food.
I cannot emphasise enough how happy we were with our time at Ford Cottage, a good time was had by all of us and we will definitely be back again next year!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was superb, many good design touches and plenty of space.
Liked least: There was little we could think of to improve on really but it was suggested another easy chair in the lounge would give a large group more space and a more sociable "circle"and some deckchairs would be good.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gbm66
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great cottage, excellent value. Fab place to stay.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is an excellent cottage, Kim contacted us throughout the booking even texting us to say we could get into the cottage early. It was spacious, clean, modern and very well equipped. We stayed as two families and there was plenty of room. We would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a break in Yorkshire. The ford inn next door was pricey but the food was good and the service friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coppernor...
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Finished to a high standard”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Having a dog we can struggle to find lovely cottages but this one was perfect and finished to a very high standard. The kitchen is well equipped, the dining room and living room are large and comfortable and the master bedroom is to die for. There is also a double garage which is perfect for bikes etc, it also has a dog / bike / muddy boot shower.
There is a pub next door with cask beer which was well kept and we had a lovely meal there too. We would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: We were allowed to enter the property at 11 am
Liked least: It was a windy weekend and the main bathroom fan was drafty, but the owner said this would be addressed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great girly getaway!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Every year myself and a group of 'old' uni friends make the effort to have a long weekend away, this year we chose 'The Ford Cottage' and we weren't disappointed! The cottage is beautiful, well equipped, has stunning views and is so homely - what more could you want!

On our first night we ate at the pub next door which was great! The following day we went for a walk (to clear our heads!) and then ventured down into Holmfirth for lunch and a look around the shops, we ended up booking our evening meal at a lovely little tapas restaurant! The rest of the weekend we relaxed and ate at the cottage although we did manage to squeeze in a few trips to other local pubs (yes we were trying to relive our uni days!).

This cottage has everything you need for a relaxing but fun getaway and I will definitely be back with family so that we can explore the area further and go back to some of the lovely local pubs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris-158...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in July 2013

We all had a fantastic stay at the beautiful Ford Cottage in the Summer to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. 8 of us stayed and there was more than enough room for us all to stay in the cottage! Kim and David the owners were very accommodating and a pleasure to deal with.

On the friday we enjoyed a long walk around Digley Reservoir with our dogs and picked fresh bilberries, which we made great use of to make a scrumptious crumble when we arrived back at the Cottage.

In the evening there was a great selection of board games to play after a lovely meal at the local pub next door to the cottage.

Being keen cyclists, on the Saturday the weather again was very nice and we went on a long bike ride around Holmfirth and made sure we cycled parts of the upcoming 2014 Tour De France route!

We were so happy with the stay we have already booked again for next Summer for a whole week as there is so much more walking and cycling we want to do.

Thanks for a great short break!

Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House was stunning and surrounding areas beautiful
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing