We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The claridges of the BB world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed at Sunnybank for 2 nights at the begining of April, great location, our view had a stunning view of the moors, even from the bathroom.
Every need was catered for, there was even dental floss and candles in the bathroom, Jason and Rachel were brilliant.
Holmfirth is only a 5 to 10 min walk away, and there are plenty of local resturants.
if you get the opportunity GO

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed over the Easter weekend to see a couple of bands at the Picturedrome.

Only about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Holmfirth, Sunnybank pretty much ticks all the boxes. The hillside views are picturesque, the rooms attractive and well equipped (tea & coffee, hairdryer, all that kind of thing) and the memory foam beds comfortable.

It was cold when we arrived, in the snow, but soon warmed through and you have control of your own thermostat.

My only slight negative was that the shower wasn't as hot or powerful as I'd've liked, but the hosts seem to have an eco-friendly outlook which is difficult to condemn.

Speaking of whom, Rachel and Jason are very pleasant and welcoming hosts who take your enjoyment seriously, and the breakfasts are amazing. It's the attention to detail with this kind of place that makes all the difference, and they certainly do that.

Room Tip: If you smoke, stay in the Valleyside room. It's still no smoking, but your door opens straight o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuRiechstSoGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Church View Room. Everything about Sunnybank was first class but the attention to detail was a bonus. Beautiful house, spotlessly clean, warm, friendly. Jason and Rachel do an excellent job here. Very comfortable bed, luxury bedding and a superb wet room with complimentary high quality toiletries, everything you could ever need. The breakfasts were superb and we also enjoyed some excellent meals in and around Holmfirth. The locals are extremely friendly and helpful, the scenery is beautiful, definitely worth a visit to this area, especially if you enjoy walking. Of course Yorkshire folk are the nicest people (I am slightly biased being a Yorkshire lass myself)! We could find absolutely nothing to complain about here, which is very refreshing! Don't change a thing Jason it's perfect and excellent value for money too. We forgot to put a comment in the visitor book as we were so busy chatting to Jason before we left, so hope this makes amends. Thank you both once again for a most enjoyable stay, we have already recommended you to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

First time visit to Holmfirth to see Wilko Johnson at the Picturedrome. Decided to make a weekend of it and stayed at the wonderful Sunnybank Guest House. Jason was a great host who made us very welcome. We enjoyed everything about Sunnybank from the very comfortable Church view bedroom to the perfect Yorkshire breakfast. The house itself is stunning and beautifully appointed. I would definitely recommend Sunnybank which lived up to its deserved reputation in every respect. Fair value and an excellent choice for a quiet weekend stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIke Kirby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

What a charming B&B. To be honest we don't normally do B&B's as we do like to remain "anonymous" when travelling.

Rachel and Jason have an amazing home which is beautifully decorated throughout and absolutely spotlessly clean. My mother in law had a room in the main house and my husband and I had a room just to the back of the house in an annex.

My mother in laws room was the last one left in the house and her bedroom was not en-suite so her bathroom (solely hers) but just a short hop across directly from her room. Because of this they provided dressing gowns for her and she was very impressed with her room and bathroom. Our room was literally yards from the front door of the house (two annexed rooms adjoined to each other) which I actually like, because as a smoker I didn't have to traipse through the house to have a cigarette. (I would recommend these rooms if like me you are a smoker :o) ).

Breakfast was yummy - of course being on holiday we just had to have the full English and it was beautifully cooked.

We would certainly stay here again when visiting our friends in Holmfirth (which itself is a stunning little village).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyValentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had a family funeral to attend in Manchester and didn't want to be in the city. The room we stayed in was 'Church View' which was large and airy with a lovely view of the snow covered hills. The breakfasts are awesome and 'eyes are bigger than belly' - locally resourced and well cooked. The kipper was the most natural colour I've seen in a long time. The couple running the B&B offer help without asking - e.g. would you like real milk in your room, let me carry your cases for you etc. The Art Nouveau wardrobe had dressing gowns inside for our use and the towels were so thick you could lose a kitten in them. We didn't get to use the sitting room but it was elegant and full of things to borrow or use. The torches near the front door were a welcome thing as it is dark in Holmfirth. Brilliant pub nearby (turn right outside B&B, turn left at small crossroads), called Farmers Arms who kindly rang the B&B when we left our postcards there. The only thing I found difficult were the wifi type light switches but I can see their point.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Sunny bank is amazing, gorgeous location, and rooms. Rachel and Jason are lovely and helpful, and provide amazing service plus a unreal breakfast menu. Would recommend it to everyone you will fall in love with this place and feel truly spoilt by the fantastic views and overall feel of the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
840 reviews
5.5 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
116 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range: £77 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing