We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at this guest house for one night. Having read the reviews which place it at No1 in Holmfirth our expectations were high. The reality was somewhat different.

While the owners were absent Jason and his wife manage the property. We were therefore left alone in the property with the other guests and given an emergency phone number should the need arise,

The gardens are well kept.

On arrival as the front door opened we were greeted by a stale and unpleasant odour in the hall. The guest lounge is shabby with rugs thrown over aged sofas.

Our bedroom (Church View) was dull, old grey carpet, grey chairs, ochre coloured walls, purple bed cover...all rather odd. The sash window had a broken cord so the only way to keep it open was to wedge it with a book. The pillows were lumpy and polyester.

The bathroom had a wet room style shower, the towels were soft and white.

Breakfast was pleasant, melon, fresh grapefruit plu a cooked breakfast of one's choice. Coffee poor.

We felt the cost of £90 was overpriced for our room.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank harpendenscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

We are very sorry you were disappointed with your one night stay at Sunnybank. For your information, two nights in the Church View Room cost £80 for two people, per night with a further £5 reduction for three.

Sunnybank's “rather odd” decor is exactly as shown on our website and we believe that the style achieved encourages guests to relax in our home. Our pillows are not feather for allergy reasons however feather and down pillows are available upon request. We cannot think what the unpleasant odour may have been, back then in February, other than cleaning materials or bread making but can only apologise and repeat the old adage - “You can’t please all of the people all of the time”!
Peter White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Sunnybank, the room was lovely as were the views. The hosts of Sunnybank are a lovely couple and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was amazing and we enjoyed every bit. The hill was a bit of a climber but didnt spoil our break one bit. We will definately return and most definately recommend to our family and friends. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The guest house is a real treat with the most wonderful bed linen and comfortable beds to ensure a restful nights sleep.The water pressure could be a bit stronger but the showers do have every mod con required and top of the range toiletries.
The breakfasts are freshly cooked and show the excellence of the local produce. Overall a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank widewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed at Sunnybank for 2 nights at the begining of April, great location, our view had a stunning view of the moors, even from the bathroom.
Every need was catered for, there was even dental floss and candles in the bathroom, Jason and Rachel were brilliant.
Holmfirth is only a 5 to 10 min walk away, and there are plenty of local resturants.
if you get the opportunity GO

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed over the Easter weekend to see a couple of bands at the Picturedrome.

Only about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Holmfirth, Sunnybank pretty much ticks all the boxes. The hillside views are picturesque, the rooms attractive and well equipped (tea & coffee, hairdryer, all that kind of thing) and the memory foam beds comfortable.

It was cold when we arrived, in the snow, but soon warmed through and you have control of your own thermostat.

My only slight negative was that the shower wasn't as hot or powerful as I'd've liked, but the hosts seem to have an eco-friendly outlook which is difficult to condemn.

Speaking of whom, Rachel and Jason are very pleasant and welcoming hosts who take your enjoyment seriously, and the breakfasts are amazing. It's the attention to detail with this kind of place that makes all the difference, and they certainly do that.

Room Tip: If you smoke, stay in the Valleyside room. It's still no smoking, but your door opens straight o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuRiechstSoGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Church View Room. Everything about Sunnybank was first class but the attention to detail was a bonus. Beautiful house, spotlessly clean, warm, friendly. Jason and Rachel do an excellent job here. Very comfortable bed, luxury bedding and a superb wet room with complimentary high quality toiletries, everything you could ever need. The breakfasts were superb and we also enjoyed some excellent meals in and around Holmfirth. The locals are extremely friendly and helpful, the scenery is beautiful, definitely worth a visit to this area, especially if you enjoy walking. Of course Yorkshire folk are the nicest people (I am slightly biased being a Yorkshire lass myself)! We could find absolutely nothing to complain about here, which is very refreshing! Don't change a thing Jason it's perfect and excellent value for money too. We forgot to put a comment in the visitor book as we were so busy chatting to Jason before we left, so hope this makes amends. Thank you both once again for a most enjoyable stay, we have already recommended you to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

First time visit to Holmfirth to see Wilko Johnson at the Picturedrome. Decided to make a weekend of it and stayed at the wonderful Sunnybank Guest House. Jason was a great host who made us very welcome. We enjoyed everything about Sunnybank from the very comfortable Church view bedroom to the perfect Yorkshire breakfast. The house itself is stunning and beautifully appointed. I would definitely recommend Sunnybank which lived up to its deserved reputation in every respect. Fair value and an excellent choice for a quiet weekend stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIke Kirby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
874 reviews
2.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
589 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
236 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#6 of 12 in Holmfirth
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range: £72 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing