We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful 5 days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“wonderful 5 days”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stayed in the Annex for 5 days whilst on a course. the Annex is very comfortable, lovely bathroom and very comfortable bed,the breakfast's were very good and the staff couldn't do more for you.wasnt sure at first about the shared table but it proved to be a lovely start to the day talking to other guests that perhaps if on separate tables wouldn't have been such a friendly atmosphere..the local roads took a little getting use to but also became part of the experience.. what a lovely location ...will visit again...the winery is also worth a visit views to die for..

Room Tip: the annex would be good for anyone with disabilities as its flat and you can park straight outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinaperry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    44
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
387
26
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Annex while on a walking holiday in May. We found it very comfortable and friendly with everything you need. The breakfasts were amazing - a very good chef! Only complaint was the rain! Nevermind.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We booked to stay at Sunnybank guest house in May, a one night stay with our son. I booked the room online using the owners own website. It all looked very nice from the pictures on the Website. When I filled in the on line form it was very clear that the child place was free. I completed the booking and received an email saying I had successfully booked the room. 24 hours later I received an email from Sunnybank guest house stating that the room would actually cost almost 30% more than quoted on the booking as we were bringing a child. There was no apology for this error. I phoned them and said that I was not willing to pay the extra and again there was no apology for the error the lady said she would cancel the booking. I have since gone through the whole booking process again, and again the price at the end clearly stated that the child was free. So families be warned it may cost more than you think.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joutet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
We do think the rating of "Terrible" is a bit excessive given that you didn't actually stay at Sunnybank. However, we’re really sorry you had a bad experience using our online booking facility and can understand some of your frustration.
We had just engaged a new booking engine and in the set-up process, as we no longer offer a third bed, we removed the extra charge but failed to remove the number “3” from the drop down question, "number of room occupants". Nowhere on our site did we advertise free child places.
I am assured that apologies were proffered at the time, the error was rectified and an additional bed was however offered at the old price.
I do hope you will forgive this oversight and will come and try Sunnybank in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

If you get the chance to stay here do! We stayed here while house hunting and it was wonderful. The house is beautifully decorated and the hosts are friendly, helpful and hospitable. The room was equipped with everything you could need - huge, comfortable bed, bathrobes, selection of teas and a cafetiere of coffee as well as instant. We were in the patio room which was not ensuite but had sole use of a large separate bathroom. Everything was very clean and we made use of the guest lounge which was very comfortable. The food was freshly cooked and absolutely delicious. We travel extensively with business and have stayed in many hotels / guest houses. This was one of the best. The access road is narrow and steep but there is very little traffic along it so it wasn't a problem. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilac-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north london
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at this guest house for one night. Having read the reviews which place it at No1 in Holmfirth our expectations were high. The reality was somewhat different.

While the owners were absent Jason and his wife manage the property. We were therefore left alone in the property with the other guests and given an emergency phone number should the need arise,

The gardens are well kept.

On arrival as the front door opened we were greeted by a stale and unpleasant odour in the hall. The guest lounge is shabby with rugs thrown over aged sofas.

Our bedroom (Church View) was dull, old grey carpet, grey chairs, ochre coloured walls, purple bed cover...all rather odd. The sash window had a broken cord so the only way to keep it open was to wedge it with a book. The pillows were lumpy and polyester.

The bathroom had a wet room style shower, the towels were soft and white.

Breakfast was pleasant, melon, fresh grapefruit plu a cooked breakfast of one's choice. Coffee poor.

We felt the cost of £90 was overpriced for our room.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank harpendenscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
We are very sorry you were disappointed with your one night stay at Sunnybank. For your information, two nights in the Church View Room cost £80 for two people, per night with a further £5 reduction for three.

Sunnybank's “rather odd” decor is exactly as shown on our website and we believe that the style achieved encourages guests to relax in our home. Our pillows are not feather for allergy reasons however feather and down pillows are available upon request. We cannot think what the unpleasant odour may have been, back then in February, other than cleaning materials or bread making but can only apologise and repeat the old adage - “You can’t please all of the people all of the time”!
Peter White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Sunnybank, the room was lovely as were the views. The hosts of Sunnybank are a lovely couple and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was amazing and we enjoyed every bit. The hill was a bit of a climber but didnt spoil our break one bit. We will definately return and most definately recommend to our family and friends. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The guest house is a real treat with the most wonderful bed linen and comfortable beds to ensure a restful nights sleep.The water pressure could be a bit stronger but the showers do have every mod con required and top of the range toiletries.
The breakfasts are freshly cooked and show the excellence of the local produce. Overall a delightful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank widewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
785 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
733 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
112 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing