We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT STAY IN YORKSHIRE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Sue and Mike were excellent hosts. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Property and setting were beautifully maintained. Holmfirth was just a walk away with very good shops and places to eat. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Beautiful house and warm cosy rooms. Mike and Sue gave us a very warm welcome and looked after us wonderfully. An excellent and varied choice of breakfast which was plentiful, well presented and freshly cooked...delicious! Breakfast is served at one large table shared by all the guests. A choice of three breakfast sittings is offered and chosen the night before so it wasn't crowded in the room. The accomodation was spacious, very clean and tidy with plenty of tea/coffee etc provided. Beautiful guest lounge with games, books, piano and (heaven) no TV! making it a very relaxing room. The main town is only a 5 minute walk away with varied excellent restaurants and pubs. Would definatly recommend and return here ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarandipity62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Clean, comfortable and friendly. Nothing to much trouble to make our short stay memorable. Wish I had booked a couple of more nights. The short walk into Holmfirth made it a convenient place to stay and the local people made you feel welcome, they also held Sunnybank and its owners and staff in high esteem. Will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly what they say on the tin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank150853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Beautiful property with lots of character. The room was very clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was fresh and cooked to order - perhaps some background music and/or newspapers would help a little with the silences around the breakfast table (which is shared with other guests). Very convenient location for Holmfirth which is a short 5 minute walk away. Very friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela123341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hi Pamela

Many thanks for taking the time to review Sunnybank. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I thought I might reply with a little explanation for prospective guests about the breakfast arrangements at Suunybank and why we do it the way we do. Our overall aim is to generate a relaxed and welcoming feeling not unlike house guests enjoying a few days away at a country home. We have no commercial signage and very limited notices around the property.

When we first started doing B&B we did try background music and quickly found that one man’s radio station is another’s poison, that people whispered and were less likely to interact at all and that we could keep your charges lower by not having to pay for a PRS licence. Also our unexpected inclusion into the prestigious Good Hotel Guide actively promotes the absence of background music. Papers also seem to offer a barrier rather than a bridge.

We can and do offer, when we are busy, a single, table for two in the lounge but even here - when gusts have experienced both – they usually choose to breakfast with the other guests.

Yes, you are right that there can be the odd awkward ‘British’ moment when people enter the dining room and broach their comfort zone however we try to quickly introduce people and encourage interaction.

Generally we can claim with confidence that once the ice has been broken, guests enjoy our more continental experience and give us the lovely problem of – “how do we stop them all talking so we can clear the table before lunchtime”!

We do hope you will return and look forward to welcoming you again

Kind regards
Peter & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at the Sunnybank Guest House whilst attending the wedding of a good friend nearby. The first thing to say is that the house is beautiful - a perfect example of Victorian architecture and gardens. The room was spacious and well-appointed with lots of little touches that I appreciated. Breakfast was also very well done, enjoyable and make with fresh local ingredients.

The one thing that let the experience down was being charged £20 for a towel that, unfortunately, had a bit of makeup on it. I had an accident with an exploding bottle of makeup which meant the towel was dirty - when I arrived back from the wedding, I was greeted by a rather terse letter stating that a) I would have to pay for the towel that was damaged by fake tan (fake tan was not used at all) and b) I *may* in future have to pay to dry clean the bedspread - again, no fake tan was used whatsoever.

The following morning, I tried to explain that I had not used fake tan (this was water-based makeup which would wash out). I was told that *if I managed to get the makeup out myself, I could send the towel back and they would refund me*.

Incidentally, having purchased several of the same towels for my own home, I know for a fact that they do not cost £20 to replace. Overall, I thought that was a bit mean, particularly as they know it would cost me nearly as much in postage to send back.

Final point that really took the shine off the experience - every single one of my friends received a thank you note and a welcome back - I didn't. I can only think getting makeup on a towel is such a crime that they don't want 'my sort' back again. Rest assured, I won't return - that really left a bad taste in my mouth.

I've stayed in many of the best hotels in the world and have never been asked to pay for a dirty towel - surely laundry is a key and intrinsic part of any hotel experience and I can't believe makeup is the worst thing the proprietors have ever seen.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Caroline

I'm glad you enjoyed Sunnybank, our breakfasts and the facilities. It’s such a shame that the bath sheet incident marred your visit. Unfortunately, whilst we often deal with small amounts of make up, yours was an excessively soiled bath sheet and it may have been better, in hindsight, to have used the tissues provided to deal with your "exploding" makeup.

Whilst we're sorry you felt unable to return the bath sheet, we believe our offer to reimburse you - should you be able to clean it - was more than fair being actually below the replacement cost for a ‘Zero Twist 600 gsm Bath Sheet’ from our online suppliers 'King of Cotton'.

Sadly our purple bedspread you mentioned did not respond to dry cleaning as the marks turned out to be as a result of nail varnish remover, presumably, from the opened bottle we discovered when we serviced your room. We have donated this to a local charity and replaced it, at our expense, with a new grey one.

All in all I'm glad you had an enjoyable weekend and apologize for our oversight in failing to issue a "Please come again" letter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A very nice facility. Super clean. Food was great. Staff was very helpful and great location. Room appointments very well done. Parking was no problem and Holmfirth is a very easy walk. Would not hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Friendly guest house, delicious breakfast and spacious and well equipped modern room. Would stay here again for another weekend in holmfirth. Lovely pubs and restaurants nearby. There is also a small vineyard about 5 minutes drive away which is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaltaireClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
896 reviews
2.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
594 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
571 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#6 of 12 in Holmfirth
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range: £72 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing