We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd stay here every time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We'd stay here every time”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here after a gig at the Picturedrome, and it ticks all the boxes.
The hosts are naturally friendly and ensured everything was spot on.
The building is picturesque, just a short walk from the centre of Holmfirth, so it's accessible but very quiet.
The rooms are homely but very tasteful, have memory foam mattresses, and complimentary biscuits, tea, coffee and stuff. There's also a gorgeous front room with a big fire, and the breakfast room has a great view of the valley.
Breakfast itself is all locally sourced stuff and delicious; a buffet of cereal, preserves, honey, fruit, etc and a made to order hot plateful. We had the full English... spot on.
We'll be back without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuRiechstSoGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    42
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
373
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Fab stay in a fab area. Very accommodating stay for guests with dogs, and the food and room were first rate. The owners were very helpful.
A wonderful area with lots to do - a great location for walkers who like real ale pubs!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed at Sunnybanks just for 1 night on a trip over to see Lloyd Cole & the Leopards at the Picturedrome.
The journey over from Manchester was horrible,thick fog & lots of traffic.
We found Sunnybanks following the excellent directions and what an oasis of warmth & light.
We had a quick change & out- eat at the Bengal Spice which was delicious and a fantastic gig in the Picturedrome- very different to the acoustic gig we had recently seen at the citadel St Helens, very enjoyable.
The comfort of the bed and quiet of the room lulled into sleep quickly. The shower & toiletries (White Company) & towels luxurious . Lured downstairs by the delicious smell of bacon and a full Yorkshire breakfast which would be hard to beat, really tasty bacon & sausages, locally sourced & beautifully presented. Sue & Mike were very welcoming and the only thing I would do next time is arrive in more time so I could have a glass of fizz or a gin & tonic in the very comfortable guest lounge (fabulous roaring fire).
I would thoroughly recommend Sunnybanks and looking forward to returning for a longer break.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2zombies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Sunnybank stands in an imposing position with a spectacular valley view. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Nothing was too much trouble and Mike and Sue went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. The room (Valley View - Room 1) was spacious, well presented and of a very high standard and the attention to detail made all the difference. We will definitely be returning and will not hesitate in recommending this accommodation to friends and family alike.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilW187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Welcoming and homely; this was a really pleasant two day stop over. Our room (room1) was spacious, nicely appointed. The sitting room is comfortable with interesting books to read and an open fire by which to read them. The dining room is elegant and the food good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We went to Sunnybank a few months ago and although it was dark when we arrived (it was a little tricky to find at first) we were greeted at the end of the road by the very lovely Mike. Once inside the lovely Sue appeared and between them both made our stay very welcoming and enjoyable. Breakfasts are yummy and the friendliness of Mike and Sue over the weekend just made the stay so much nicer. I dropped my mobile down the loo the first night! and they were both quick to help by providing a bowl of rice to save the day. The morning we left, my partner left early, so I was invited into the kitchen where we chatted for a while whilst Mike made me egg and toast and Sue made a pot of tea, lovely! It felt like we'd gone to friends for the weekend, it's that welcoming.

Highly recommend this place to anyone….i've no doubt we will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Nestling in the heart of Holmfirth Sunnybank Guest House offers accommodation of the very highest standard in a beautifully maintained and exquisitely appointed Victorian house. Style and elegance oozed from every room but without a hint of pretension. From booking onwards everything about Sunny bank Guest House was perfect. The breakfast menu left one spoilt for choice and, given the quality of ours, one suspects that none of the options would disappoint. Our attentive hosts offered helpful advice on local dining options. Will we be back? You bet!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Jill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
772 reviews
5.5 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#8 of 12 in Holmfirth
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing