We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled to perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Chilled to perfection!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My partner and I stayed for two nights in the Valley view suite. I had opted for the added luxury package. We were met by Mike and Sue on arrival and shown to our room which is absoloutley beautiful. Fresh flowers, fresh fruit, a bottle of bubbly on ice, a decanter of port and big fluffy dressing gowns really added to the wow factor. Views from the room are amazing especially while soaking in the luxurious bath. Fantastic tea tray with good selection of drinks and biscuits. The bed is very large and very comfortable, we both slept soundly and awoke refreshed. Very good choice of breakfasts, immaculate presentation and very very tasty. Mike and Sue are wonderful hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. We will definitely be back, can highly recommend to stay here, you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: Valley view suite is stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    42
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
373
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sunnybank just before Christmas for 1 night. It was such a lovely place to stay with wonderful attention to detail. Lovely and clean, wonderful welcome and great surroundings. Breakfast was very tasty,we're looking forward to a return trip!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights In the Valley View Suite. On arrival we were greeted by Mike and Sue who showed us to our light, (ideal if your an early riser) spacious room with amazing views. Then they made us a lovely, welcome much needed cuppa with a selection of biscuits. The quirky bath is not quite big enough to lie down but you don't need to with lovely views to admire. Nothing was too much trouble for them and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandAmanda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent a delightful 2 days at this upmarket B&B. Mine hosts were most welcoming, service was excellent, ambience superb and food delicious. What more could anyone desire? Highly recommended and certainly ideally positioned for touring in Yorkshire & Peak District.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BingoWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Mike and Sue made us feel very welcome. We were served tea and biscuits upon arrival, in the very comfortable guests lounge. The house is most tastefully decorated and furnished throughout. We stayed in the Garden View room, with en suite. The bed was supremely comfortable. The room was very well furnished with great attention to detail; for example with the provision of a self service hot drinks tray with a wide variety of teas and instant or ground coffee and biscuits to choose from.
The breakfast was outstanding, with fresh melon, fresh grapefruit and fruit juice. A wide choice of cereals including high quality muesli, seeds and granola. We had the full cooked breakfast and the smoked haddock with poached egg on a round of toast. Fresh ground coffee, home made bread, served in the handsome oak panelled dining room with glowing fire. We would both highly recommend Sunnybank as a base for visiting Holmfirth and all that it offers.

Room Tip: The Garden View room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 82happyholidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I can only add to all of the other fantastic reviews for Sunnybank - it's a lovely place to stay! Sunnybank is just a short 5 minute stroll downhill into Holmfirth (10 minutes coming back up the hill!) so is in a good location. We stayed in the Valley View suite which was just beautiful. The room is very large with high ceilings and quality furniture. The bed was enormous and very comfortable, and the bathroom with its slipper bath with a view over the hills was just perfect for a long soak - complete with tealights provided by Mike and Sue, they really have thought of everything! I've tried to add a couple of photos of the room and bathroom but I'm afraid they don't do it justice, you'll just have to go and see for yourself! Breakfast was filling and delicious, made perfect by the open fire which was lit in the dining room each morning. Everything is done to a really high standard with great attention to detail by Mike and Sue. They thoroughly deserve all their great reviews and I am very happy to add another one!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL09UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A great welcome with tea and biscuits in the beautifully furnished guest's lounge with its splendid view over the valley. The Garden View room with its en-suite shower room was tastefully decorated and contained quality furnishings, bedding, towels and toiletries. Breakfast provided plenty of choice, cooked to order and served in a stunning dining room overlooking the front garden and the valley. Mike and Sue were excellent hosts and overall, we're glad we chose Sunnybank since the hospitality and attention to detail make it one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
775 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
726 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant & Castle
Elephant & Castle
#8 of 12 in Holmfirth
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing