We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birth place tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“birth place tour”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our hosts were very attentive and helpful. All 3 rooms used by our group were comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was excellent. Lots of advice on places to eat and visit as well as a good bottle of wine as a reward for making this, our second, visit

Room Tip: we had three rooms between us and all were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willie_bennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    39
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
368
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here on 26 April for the night. The guest house is set in a lovely quiet location just 5 minutes walk from the centre of holmfirth. The room was immaculate with everything you need. Breakfast was delicious, my husband had the full English and I had scrambled eggs, they were best scrambled eggs I have had, will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here at very short notice for a wedding and hosts Mike and Sue could not have done any more to accommodate our needs. The were beyond brilliant and we would definitely go back.

The b&b is ideally situated within a short 5 minute walk to Holmfirth which separates it nicely from any of the noise that you might find at one of the other guest houses /pubs in town. It is priced similarly to other places and yet, after looking around, we observed that what you get for that price far exceeds what you get from the other options in town. It truly is 5 star service.

The view from the guest house is breathtaking as it overlooks the picturesque valley and hill that forms Holmfirth town.

My girlfriend and i would highly recommend adding the high tea if you can as it was an incredible array of sandwiches, scones and cakes all locally made and sourced. We tried our best, but genuinely couldn't finish it all. The breakfast you will get as part of the cost is one of the best ive had and couldn't be faulted in either ingredient quality or cooking expertise.

Overall a well deserved 5 stars from us.

Well done Mike and Sue.

K&A

Room Tip: Patio view has a separate bathroom across the hall. Its no bother but should ones needs require an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay over Easter weekend. We stayed in the Garden View and our son in the Church View Room. Both were immaculate and very comfortable. This is top quality in every respect, from the location (a few minutes walk from central Holmfirth, with beautiful views across the valley from the front of the house) the décor, fittings and facilities and the breakfasts, which were exceptionally good. Mike even provided delicious fresh-made hot cross buns on Easter Sunday, one of the many thoughtful touches that make this an outstanding guest house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in sunnybank back in March and had a fantastic weekend. We were made to feel so welcome by Sue and Mike who were such attentive hosts. The location and house itself were lovely and the breakfast was great too! It exceeded our expectations in every way! We can't wait to go back and stay soon!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gingerpixie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed in the Garden View room for one night and it was a very enjoyable stay. The guest house is a beautiful Victorian home and as such our room was small but clean, cosy and very tastefully decorated. The bathroom was also small but absolutely beautiful: clean, stylish and with great features, such as the rain-effect shower, marble surfaces, and over-head heating. The breakfast was delicious and the owners were friendly and welcoming. Also, very convenient location with stunning views of the moor. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicske85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have stayed at Sunnybank twice now, and we are always struck by the beautiful surroundings. Sunnybank is an upmarket 5 star boutique guest house which is very well run. Attentive hosts Sue and Mike cater for your every need. Attention to detail is apparent with some lovely touches of luxury in the bedrooms.

Breakfast served in the beautiful panelled dining room was excellent with a varied choice of dishes all cooked and served to perfection.

We would thoroughly recommend Sunnybank to any future guests thinking about staying in a luxurious guest house situated in an idyllic setting with the heart of Holmfirth just 5 mins walk away..but with stunning views overlooking the Holme Valley and its glorious rolling hills.

Room Tip: Choose the Valley View Suite and Church View Room for stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
5.5 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing