We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for two nights with friends. Beautiful room in the annexe, with a very comfy bed and lovely linen. After long days exploring the local area, we appreciated the excellent, sparkling clean shower room and thick towels. Both the owners and the managers (they swapped over!)were very friendly indeed and the breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrinklie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    39
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
368
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights for a very special trip. The wonderful hospitality, gorgeous surroundings and amazing room contributed to a really memorable stay.

Mike and Sue went out of their way to make our stay special and it was really appreciated.

The room was spotless, with beautiful views across the valley, and the most comfortable bed (helped by the amazing bedding)

Excellent breakfast, and spoiled for choice.

All in all a wonderful way to relax and escape from the city.
As part of my proposal to my now fiance, our stay here will live long in the memory.

Room Tip: The bath with view over the valley was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metcalfejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here with the husband for a couple of nights for a wedding, and we were very pleasantly surprised by Sunnybank. It's a lovely quiet location (could be slightly awkward to get to with a large car, though) with cracking views across the valley. It's also just a short walk down into the village, which was very useful as it was horrendous weather while we were there.

But we were very impressed. We were in the garden room, which wasn't particularly big, but very nicely decorated, comfortable, and spotless. There was every amenity in the room, from proper caffetiere coffee, to (a lifesaver) nail varnish remover pads. And the breakfast! I couldn't move afterwards I ate so much, but it was worth it! Mike ans Sue were very welcoming, as were the owners we met whilst we were there (can't remember names, sorry!) and we were well looked after. It'll be first point of call if we're ever in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just enjoyed a weekend stay with friends - we were unanimously impressed by the rooms, food and attention to detail.l. Sunnybanks delivers a quality experience which really added to the enjoyment of our weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stopped at this fabulous bed and breakfast recently in order to meet up with friends.

The property is located slightly away from the town centre, up a hill, which allows it to benefit from the fantastic views of the valley. You can access the property either way up this road or by continuing up the main road and taking a right turn by Compo's fish and chip shop., Another right turn at the top of this road leads you down to Sunnybank right next to the church.

The property is lovely with gardens to the front and side and plenty of parking. We were met by our hosts Peter and Ann who were most pleasant and very knowledgeable. The Valley Suite where we stayed was fantastic. Everything here is quality and it shows. The ensuite was lovely with a hip bath, separate walk in shower, candles etc.

The room has plenty of storage space, fluffy bath robes, a huge bed with quality linen and a lcd television. Tea and coffee making facilities, ear plugs, biscuits, books you name it, they have thought of it.

Ann was a fountain of knowledge about the town, which is about a six minute walk away. She recommended the Farmers Arms, which was splendid and we even benefited from free drinks vouchers.

There is a guest room downstairs with reading materials to hand if you wish. High teas are served although we did not have one.

The breakfast is ordered the night before. We both had the full Yorkshire, splendid and then my wife had on the Sunday the smoked haddock, beautiful. Fruits, cereals, tea,coffee etc are all here in the wonderful breakfast room. Other guests commented on the quality of the scrambled eggs.

This in our opinion the best bed and breakfast that we have ever stayed in. Peter and Ann are very friendly but maintain a professional approach, even down to the chefs tops they wear when serving breakfast.

Strongly recommended if you are looking for quality bed and breakfast accommadation in this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our hosts were very attentive and helpful. All 3 rooms used by our group were comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was excellent. Lots of advice on places to eat and visit as well as a good bottle of wine as a reward for making this, our second, visit

Room Tip: we had three rooms between us and all were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willie_bennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here on 26 April for the night. The guest house is set in a lovely quiet location just 5 minutes walk from the centre of holmfirth. The room was immaculate with everything you need. Breakfast was delicious, my husband had the full English and I had scrambled eggs, they were best scrambled eggs I have had, will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
5.5 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing