We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just come back from another stay here..still great ...lovely location lovely room and brilliant breakfast..nice to share breakfast with the other guests makes for a lovely start to the day..warm and friendly welcome carnt praise the place enough..

Room Tip: I stay in the garden rooms easy. to unpack and park.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaperry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights last weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Sunnybank. Mike and Sue really make it a very special place to stay. As I booked quite close to our visit, we needed to change rooms halfway through, and had both the Valley View room and the Church view room, both extremely comfortable, with particularly high quality beds. The breakfasts are first class, with lots of delicious dishes to choose from. I spent the weekend on a fantastic knitting course at the Rowan Mill, and my husband cycled the Tour de France route locally, both of us happy with our choice of pastime. I'm sure we will be coming back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brierley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Booked in for one night at the Sunnybank as we had tickets for a concert at the Picturedrome, wished we could have stayed longer. The room was beautiful and the view looking out to the valley was outstanding. Our hosts Mike and Sue made us feel very welcome which makes your stay all the more special. As already mentioned previously the little touches that Mike and Sue added really leave a lasting impression, well done ! We have been recommending Sunnybank to our friends and family and have plans to return again only next time for a little longer !!

Michael & Heather R

Room Tip: We stayed in room one ( Valley View ) we loved the view and the room was perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed at Sunnybank several times now and the experience has always been excellent. The managers cannot do enough to help. I have stayed in the main house and in the purpose built outside rooms. All the rooms are well furnished, comfortable, spotlessly clean and with nice touches like a small fridge/cooler, ear plugs and an umbrella! There is a pleasant lounge and lovely gardens with terraces where guests can sit and relax with a glass of wine after a day of sight seeing. The breakfasts set you up for the day - local produce cooked well. In all, good value for money and definitely the kind of place for return visits. The only drawback is the steep hill up to the house - I suggest not for the faint hearted driver or for those with mobility constraints. Professor Angela Anning

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at Sunnybank for a week while I was attending a textile Summer School. It is a beautiful place and I was fortunate to stay in their best room which is luxurious. I could look at the lambs on the hills opposite from my beautiful bath. The managers are delightful and there are so many lovely touches such as candles by the bath, Werthers Originals on the pillow and many choices of drinks to make. They also gave me a daily flask of fresh milk so that the tea and coffee was not ruined by carton milk. The breakfasts were really good -I'd recommend the scrambled egg and smoked salmon muffin, if you are not up to the full Yorkshire. The hosts are really lovely people and nothing was too much trouble (including a taxi service and first aid when there was an accident on the street below!). I would certainly stay there again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent three nights over May bank holiday and a more perfect place to stay would be difficult to find. Our room had everything we could want and more.......even including a bottle cooler! Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice. We will definitely be back. Our only suggestion for improvement would be that more information regarding the area could be provided , maybe in the residents lounge. There is a tourist info office in holmfirth so we were able to get walks leaflets and info there so not really a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owen108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our first stay at the Sunnybank Guest House - but we will definitely stay there again. It is very well situated, just away from the centre of 'Last of The Summer Wine' Holmfirth and within easy reach of beautiful areas of open countryside. The service from the hosts is welcoming and homely, with nicely cooked (and locally sourced) breakfasts. The house and adjacent lodge are set in a large, well presented, peaceful garden - the most noise emanating from the Dawn Chorus! The accommodation, guest dining room and lounge have lovely views and are furnished to a high standard, all fully justifying the 5* rating. A very pleasant visit.

Room Tip: We took the Lodge Room, which gave separate access (although there is a key to gain entry to the mai...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
826 reviews
5.5 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
115 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range: £74 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing