We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 July 2014

what a find - a truly luxurious B & B with all creature comforts and amenities. we had the Valley View Suite which was better than many five star hotel rooms and had the most glorious views. The owners Mike and Sue could not have been nicer and made us most welcome.

the Yorkshire breakfast was first class. we left begrudgingly :-)

Room Tip: Valley View Suite - worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cougar610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here recently at quite short notice so that we could enjoy the local vineyard wine tasting trip with worrying about driving. We don't usually stay at B&B's preferring what we consider to be the safer bet of standard chain hotels on the basis you think you know what you're going to get.
We can honestly say this was the best room we can ever remember (Valley Room with superb bathroom) and our hosts could not have been more welcoming.

Truly 5 Star - a very well deserved rating and without doubt one to recommend if you're ever looking at an overnight stay in Holmfirth or somewhere close by

Room Tip: We only saw the Valley Room and paid £105 for two with a superb breakfast. Can't speak for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sunnybank for 2 nights at the beginning of June. It was our first experience of a guest house stay for many years.The house and its position was fantastic. We stayed in the lodge and I must say that the room put many four star hotels to shame.It was clean, modern and fully equipped, even with an electric wine cooler.
The Yorkshire breakfast was excellent. Yes, you do have to share a table for six at breakfast but that was no problem for us.The owners, Sue and Mike, were very friendly and if we had to stay in the area again we would certainly give them another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manor80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sunnybank Guest House for 3 nights and must say that the room we had which was The Lodge was well appointed with everything you needed from bottles of water to all the little things, like the flannels, dressing gowns slippers etc so made for a happy stay.

The breakfast was very good and filled you up enough for your day ahead and Mike and Sue were also very welcoming on your arrival and during the stay so made for a very pleasant weekend. So thanks to you both Graham & Linda

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife & 2 friends had a most enjoyable time here. The rooms were excellent as were the views. Sue & Mike were most attentive & made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent with hot & cold choices.
Although a steep climb from town, this should not deter the fit & healthy. The local taxi firm provided a quick trip to town & back. Details in the Guesthouse.
My wife & I will be returning later to take advantage of the stunning scenery & walks.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, clean & with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just come back from another stay here..still great ...lovely location lovely room and brilliant breakfast..nice to share breakfast with the other guests makes for a lovely start to the day..warm and friendly welcome carnt praise the place enough..

Room Tip: I stay in the garden rooms easy. to unpack and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaperry99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights last weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed our time at Sunnybank. Mike and Sue really make it a very special place to stay. As I booked quite close to our visit, we needed to change rooms halfway through, and had both the Valley View room and the Church view room, both extremely comfortable, with particularly high quality beds. The breakfasts are first class, with lots of delicious dishes to choose from. I spent the weekend on a fantastic knitting course at the Rowan Mill, and my husband cycled the Tour de France route locally, both of us happy with our choice of pastime. I'm sure we will be coming back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brierley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
840 reviews
5.5 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
116 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range: £77 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing