We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked Sunnybank to attend a concert at The Picturedrome in Holmfirth. Everything was spot on, from the afternoon teas on arrival to the well prepared breakfasts and the comfortable boutique rooms in a lovely setting. Great hospitality and warm welcome too. Also in walking distance of some nice pubs and of course entertainment. Will happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

A lovely B & B with owners who have thought of everything a guest may need!! The rooms were comfortable, spacious and very well equipped. The gardens and views were stunning. Booked it as we were seeing a show at Holmfirth Picturedrome and would certainly use again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is the second visit to this beautiful, friendly B & B. Sumptuous breakfasts. Both times were to visit the Picturedrome & generally enjoy Holmfirth. A very warm welcome is made by the hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Great place to meet new people who also go to the Picturedrome. You won't go anywhere else after your first visit.

Room Tip: All the other guests we met were happy with their rooms and the B & B was full - so that speaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Returned to "Sunnybank" last week after a weekend in November - and what a pleasant change to see the garden in full bloom with blue skies and summer warmth !! What a lovely early morning view from our front room...This really 'made' the weekend visit ! Needless to say the same high standards of cuisine and facilities were maintained and we had a most enjoyable weekend.
I think it is less than a year since Mike & Sue took on this project but they are real professionals when it comes to looking after you!! And it's only a 10 minute walk down into Holmfirth .... slightly longer coming back !!
Highly recommended (once again)

Room Tip: The front rooms face south over the front garden towards the other side of the valley - so if you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ray p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

what a find - a truly luxurious B & B with all creature comforts and amenities. we had the Valley View Suite which was better than many five star hotel rooms and had the most glorious views. The owners Mike and Sue could not have been nicer and made us most welcome.

the Yorkshire breakfast was first class. we left begrudgingly :-)

Room Tip: Valley View Suite - worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cougar610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here recently at quite short notice so that we could enjoy the local vineyard wine tasting trip with worrying about driving. We don't usually stay at B&B's preferring what we consider to be the safer bet of standard chain hotels on the basis you think you know what you're going to get.
We can honestly say this was the best room we can ever remember (Valley Room with superb bathroom) and our hosts could not have been more welcoming.

Truly 5 Star - a very well deserved rating and without doubt one to recommend if you're ever looking at an overnight stay in Holmfirth or somewhere close by

Room Tip: We only saw the Valley Room and paid £105 for two with a superb breakfast. Can't speak for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sunnybank for 2 nights at the beginning of June. It was our first experience of a guest house stay for many years.The house and its position was fantastic. We stayed in the lodge and I must say that the room put many four star hotels to shame.It was clean, modern and fully equipped, even with an electric wine cooler.
The Yorkshire breakfast was excellent. Yes, you do have to share a table for six at breakfast but that was no problem for us.The owners, Sue and Mike, were very friendly and if we had to stay in the area again we would certainly give them another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manor80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
878 reviews
2.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
591 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
236 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#6 of 12 in Holmfirth
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range: £71 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing