We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Credit where credit is due”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 12 Holmfirth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Andros
Level Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Credit where credit is due”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We were booked in to Sunnybank; complete with the lovely "extras" package"; courtesy of our newly wed eldest daughter and son in law, who had stayed there before. We found the place to be very tastefully appointed and Anne & Peter to be attentive but not intrusive hosts. The 5 minute walk down the hill to Holmfirth is an experience. The walk back up takes a little longer. All in all, a very pleasurable experience. we would very much like to return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigbadbobAndros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    38
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
353
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Totally disappointed as accomodation not what was booked. Were given motel style accomodation when we had booked a "charming B&B". Were not advised we were being give cheaper economy accomodation until we complained.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedHerring23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterYT, owner at Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 September 2009
These guests booked the Valley View Room with an additional third bed for three nights. The day before arrival we found that the inflatable third bed was punctured. We tried contacting them on the number they had provided with no success (they later admitted that it did not work and were using another mobile number). Eventually they called us and we informed them of the problem, explaining that, if agreeable, we had made available another room with a full size third bed. They accepted this without complaint and on arrival they where shown to this room. They still made no complaint until just before they left to go out for dinner, when they said they would be happy for their adult daughter to sleep on the floor of the original room. We said “we would see what we could do” and after talking to the other guests, who kindly agreed to move, we waited to tell our ’triple’ the good news (along with the fact that were going to purchase a new ‘third’ bed the following day). Unfortunately before we could do so, they rang to say they had booked in elsewhere and would not be placated by any of our offers. They where not charged for this night.
Occasionally things outside our control go wrong but with the best will in the world we are still not magicians. We feel that we have tried our very best and had they stayed that night, would have enjoyed two perfect nights with the third being slightly less than what they had expected but certainly more comfortable than sleeping on a floor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We had a short stay at the guest house this week and we thoroughly enjoyed our time. The welcome, rooms and food were all excellent and we shall certainly be recommending you to our friends and family. We look forward to a return visit - for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneybuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

My wife and i stayed at the Sunnybank for 2 days in late July. The welcome by Anne on Peter on arrival was outstanding, they were enthusiastic and very welcoming and met us in the car park as we drove in. We were shown to our room which was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated and furnished, clearly fairly recently. i opted to have the "extras package" available in the room which included dressing gowns, flowers, chocolates , bubbly and port. This was all carefully arranged and the bubbly was brought over by Peter nicely chilled. Sunnybank is in a lovely quiet location overlooking distant hills with a churchyard immediately adjacent. Access to Sunnybank is via a steep leafy lane which is quite narrow in places but within walking distance of Holmfirth centre. Breakfast is served in a lovely wood panelled room and for the 2 days of our stay we had the best cooked breakfasts we have experienced for a long time. The food is carefully prepared by Peter and Anne wth a great emphasis on quality and local sourcing. Peter's recommendation to go to the Butcher's Arms for an evening meal was an excellent piece of advice . The chef at the Butcher's Arms is Yorkshire Chef of 2009 and we had a great meal there. All in all we had a wonderful stay at Sunnybank and i thoroughly recommend it if you value excellent service and accommodation in an enviable location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alangee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Charming place, charming people - very different from Poles - very kind, cheerful and frank. It is really very big pleasure to talk to them and to spend time with them.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

My friend and I visited this beautiful house for the night, for my birthday. Whilst the room, the house and the location were beautiful, unfortunately the welcome and the customer service left a lot to be desired. This was a great shame, as all the previous reviews had been very favourable, and had influenced my friend’s choice when picking it. We arrived a little early [3.15 - not supposed to book in 'til 4.00, but my friend had checked that it would be OK], and were greeted somewhat begrudgingly. When I asked to have a bottle of wine put in the fridge [as their website states they will be happy to do], and for some fresh milk, was made to feel it was a real inconvenience. I also felt that the tin of biscuits that only actually had two biscuits in, and was then filled with tissue paper was a bit tight! The following morning wasn't much better...there was no 'good morning' or any other common courtesies, and although the breakfast was very nice, the plates were whisked away before you'd hardly eaten your last bite!
When paying the £110, even though the web site states £100, [presumably the extra £10 was for separating the twin beds?], we were not asked if everything was OK, had we had a nice time, nothing - just pay the money!!
I feel that the 5 star / gold rating that this bed and breakfast has been awarded is unjust, and unfortunately, would not recommend it or choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RooBurton_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterYT, Owner at Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
We are most concerned that any guest should leave dissatisfied and we will try and deal with the points raised:
These guests arrived early saying they only wanted to “drop their bags off and go for lunch”. So as their room was ready we showed them straight to it. They then decided not to go out after all. The first request was made, not by ringing our service bell, but by attempting to enter our private kitchen to ask for their wine to be put in the fridge, which we did then to replace the UHT milk with fresh which, again we did, without comment. All this well before the check in time! We abandoned our trip out and stayed in, just in case a call came for their wine and also to make sure they didn’t wander into our private quarters.
Instead of pre-packaged biscuits we source locally made biscuits and put them in our own containers. Unsure as to what constitutes “being tight” when it comes to a pack of biscuits, we have now increased the number of biscuits we provide following those comments
Regarding our breakfasts please refer to all other TripAdvisor reviews. As for “whisking the plates away” we will continue removing dirty plates promptly.
A two night booking in the Valley View Room is £90 for two nights and there is a £10 supplement for single nights during the week. We do not take single night bookings at weekends but occasionally we have cancellations or longer bookings that don’t include a Saturday, in which case they are advertised on the web and, as the date gets nearer, they attract a premium rate. This price was clearly stated at the time of booking and confirmed.
We followed up their visit with an e-mail hoping they had enjoyed their visit and asking for further comments. It’s disappointing that someone could go through this whole process without mentioning anything at all to the owners yet feels moved to tell everyone & anyone on TripAdvisor we do not deserve our 5 Star Gold rating
The whole episode seems to boil down to a clash of personalities brought about by turning up before the agreed time, not respecting our privacy and a shortage of biscuits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nishta
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We ended up staying at Sunnybank in Holmfirth by accident. We meant to book Sunnybanks in Matlock... long story. But it worked out far far better than expected! The owner, Peter's welcome was great! his advice on things to do and where to eat were spot on. Sunnybanks is beautiful; and rooms very comfortable. Breakfast prepared by Anne was a lovely experience. The location didn't disappoint us either.. lovely surroundings and villages.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmfirth
0.4 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
735 reviews
5.5 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#2 of 12 in Holmfirth
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rooms at the Nook
The Rooms at the Nook
#5 of 12 in Holmfirth
105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cliffe House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 78 Upperthong Lane, Holmfirth HD9 3BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Holmfirth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Holmfirth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful and elegant boutique country guesthouse with glorious views, set in 'Last of the Summer Wine's' Holmfirth. Tripadvisor certificate of Excellence winners and consistently rated number one, in both Holmfirth & West Yorkshire. Listed in the prestigious Michelin Guide and also Britain's Finest. Sunnybank offers luxurious accommodation, serving top quality local produce, in a relaxed informal style with a classic Yorkshire welcome. We are also Tripadvisor 'Green Leaders' at Gold level and now offer, electric vehicle top-ups from our charging station. Sunnybank is only a short walk from the centre and can offer secure off road parking for those visiting the Picturedrome venue or one of the many bars or restaurants in Holmfirth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnybank Guest House Hotel Holmfirth
Sunnybank Boutique Guesthouse Holmfirth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing