We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Millpond Cottage

River view Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River view Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
River view Balcony
Sat on the River Holme
Sat on the River Holme
Sat on the River Holme
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillieve
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

For us, Millpond Cottage's wow factor is its balcony overhanging the river, where there's nothing to hear but the babbling water and the ducks! Inside, the cottage was very clean and warm - central heating plus a wood-burning fire - and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. Kate (the owner) was so helpful and accommodating, with lots of suggestions for places to go during our stay. The cottage is about 25 minutes on foot from Holmfirth - not a problem on a dry day because there's a beautiful route along the riverbank for part of the way. And for evening meals, The Bridge pub is in easy walking distance and serves great food. Overall, this is a brilliant location for exploring the area and we had a lovely stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamby21
Burnley
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing break”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great family break at this cottage, met Kate on the first day who gave us all the information we needed, we then walked down the river to Holmfirth which was so relaxing and took around 20 minutes, we ate at the Bridge Inn twice which was superb, the Wrinkly Stocking Tea House did an amazing breakfast so went there twice as well, takeaway from Raaj was again excellent.
The cottage itself was just right for myself, wife, son and dog and the balcony is really good to just pick up a book and chill out for a few hours.
Went into Sheffield and Huddersfield which were both easy to get to. highly recommended if you want a quiet get away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicholacr...
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful quaint cottage”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with two of my children. Absolutely beautiful little cottage in an idyllic setting overlooking the river. Wonderful opportunity to drink tea and eat toast laiden with Holmfirth marmalade watching the little ducklings swim around - it was like chicken soup for the soul!

Lovely local walks without needing to get in the car. Walked back from Holmfirth and had a few drinks in local pubs. Pubs and restaurants dog friendly and welcoming. The cottage was beautifully clean on arrival and Kate and Steve were there to welcome us with local produce and knowledge by the bucket load. I would highly recommend and my children on the drive home said, "when can we go back?". We had been in the car 5minutes! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael H
northants
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in beautiful area - Pet friendly”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have just returned from a long weekend at this cottage and can't praise the owners enough. This was our second time here and Kate remembered us from before even though it was over a year ago. She welcomed us with some delicious supplies to revive us after our journey and helped us unload the essentials, we find it hard to travel without, as well as making our excited puppy very welcome. We saw the local kingfisher and heron, fed the trout in the river and saw some woodpeckers on a local walk. Very clean and well equipped. We hope to return at a different time of year to see the countryside without the snow and mud.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely short break”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Gorgeous cottage in wonderful setting. Lovely warm welcome from the owner. Fed the ducks and fish from the balcony. Watched the kingfisher. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen o
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pre Christmas treat”
Reviewed 9 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We have just returned from millpond cottage and what a gem such a cosy place and thanks Kate for greeting us and telling us about the area and all the things to do around we also appreciated the welcome basket especially the mince pies it is nice to be greeted by a friendly face instead of finding your own way around and if this was mine I would be proud to show it off we went to Haworth one day which was lovely such a quaint place Sheffield Xmas market another day and we also sampled the catch restaurant just up the road which was lovely holmfirth itself is cute with quite a few shops and of course the famous cafe from last of the summer wine the only thing you have to be careful when travelling are the speed cameras there are loads!!!!!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetra80
north west england,
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best ever.”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My partner and I stayed here at millpond cottage from thurs the 5th May till weds the 11th May 2016. a total of 6 nights and believe me that was no where near long enough. we had booked it as my daughter was getting married in holmfirth. and having the dog made it easier rather then a bed and breakfast. from first booking the cottage till our arrival was made so easy by the lovely Kate the owner.as i had to change the length of stay a couple of times due to our 12 hour shifts nothing was to much trouble and was done with ease. we were met on arrival by the lovely kate. and the provisions provided of which there is alot. is very thoughtful.

the cottage is lovely and very tastefully decorated.the different lights definately give it a homily feel and what we loved was sitting out on the balcony either just listening to the tranquility of the water and i got alot of pleasure feeding the ducks and the chicks. . and as we were blessed with lovely weather. the walk along side the river into holmfirth is a must. even the dog had a paddle in there. there is an abundence of shops to choose from. and some spectacular walks as the scenery is just breath taking. digley reservoir is also lovely to have a walk round. i kept finding new roads id never been down and still havent explored them all. the pubs are very close by and nearly all welcome dogs. which to us is important, lots of places to get food from. and a londis for emergency supplies. but most of them are in the provisions left by kate and Steve. .steve and i were fascinated by the old mill faceing and was able to look up the history of it which we found exciteing. and there is some history provided in the cottage of holmfirth which again is thoughtful. I really didnt want to leave the cottage and felt quite emotional doing so never had that before and we have stayed at a few. This is a gem of a cottage and very very well equipped, and i cant speak highly enough of Kate and Steve. who go that extra mile for people. and i will be sending some wedding photos for kate to have a look at. we will definately be staying here again. infact i cant wait to do so. thank you so much to Kate and steve for a fabulous holiday. love Yvonne Steve & Teisha the dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting on the balcony listening to the water. and the cosiness of the cottage.
Liked least: loved it all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing