We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab what fantastic people!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trasnagh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greyabbey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trasnagh House
Ranked #3 of 3 Greyabbey B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab what fantastic people!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Could Not recommend trasnagh house anymore!!!!such a warm and welcoming atmosphere and Lesley and vikki really are the perfect hosts!!!!such a pleasure to stay at such a gorgeous property and what a view!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here for my girlfriends 23rd. The house is situated perfectly nestled on the top of a hill looking out into the breathtaking strangford lough. The view is one of the best I've seen, nothing beats waking up and gazing out onto the horizon to see a serene sunrise, nothing that is, except Leslie's huge cooked breakfast! Both hosts will make you feel beyond welcome and will really put themselves out for you. Some people are just a pleasure to meet, and I can honesty say that about the hosts. The room was great, tea coffee and twixs. What more can a man ask for? Thoroughly recommend if you get the chance, book in you will not regret it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luketneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

These people are so nice. Because of the gorgeous setting, it took a while for us to even enter their lovely home, but after a warm welcome and friendly chat, the hostess brought tea to our rooms. The views of the surrounding rural countryside, the beautiful Strangford Lough, and the distant Mourne Mountains are truly awesome. Following a bounteous breakfast, they presented me with a surprise birthday cake. Upon hearing form someone in our party that it would be my birthday, they drove 20 miles that night to get a decorated cake. That was literally going the extra mile for their guests.

Room Tip: The front room offers the views of the lough (lake) and mountains from one window and the countrysid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottnHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Spent one night here and highly recommend it to others. One room had a fantastic view and the other was large. Innkeepers are wonderful and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. When they heard that one person in our party was having a birthday the next day, a cake was presented at breakfast and sent with us when we left.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I've stayed at Trasnagh House on two occasions and both times were exceptional! The atmosphere is very relaxing and the amenities are excellent. Trasnagh sits overlooking Strangford Lough and the views are second to none. I would highly recommend enjoying a coffee while watching the sun set against the Mourne Mountains in the distance. The breakfast is outstanding as well as the hospitality of the couple who run Trasnagh. I also appreciate that it's within easy reach of some of N. Ireland's landmarks such as the Mourne Mountains, Belfast and the Antrim Coast. It's a wonderful base for your Irish adventure and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBryan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stopped here with our two boys in the summer. We were very pleasantly surprised at the standard of the rooms, the ensuite was perfect and the boys had plenty of space to safely run around outside. Leslie and his wife Vicky are very welcoming, full of local knowledge and the breakfast means you neither want nor need anything else until tea time! It'll be worth another visit to Ireland just to go back. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front of the house for superb views of the lock and the mountains of Mourn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cholsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Spent a weekend here in August. The rooms are clean, comfortable and homely, lovely linen. The views across the Strangford Lough are amazing with the Mountains Mourne in the background. Within easy reach of Belfast, Bangor and the Antrim coast. The couple who run it have good local knowledge, nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greyabbey
9.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
8.4 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
10.7 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shoreline at Mount Stewart
Shoreline at Mount Stewart
#2 of 3 in Greyabbey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
7.0 mi away
Edenvale House
Edenvale House
#1 of 5 in Newtownards
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trasnagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trasnagh House

Property: Trasnagh House
Address: 23 Ballybryan Road, Greyabbey BT22 2RB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Greyabbey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Greyabbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, modern house in peaceful rural setting with stunning views of Strangford Lough and the Mourne mountains. National Trust properties of Mountstewart and Castleward close by. Good restaurants locally. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trasnagh House Greyabbey, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing