We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of No 14 The Village - CLOSED

No 14 The Village
Cuisines: British, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Belfast
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was here for lunch and have heard from friends that the food and service was awful but thaught I'll try it any way it turns out I should have listened to them. The staff ignored us we waited 25 mins to be served and the so called restraunt wasn't exactally full of life as there were only 4 other tables in. Finally when I ordered and received our food a burger and a pear salad I was very disappointed the chips had enough salt on them to give some one a stroke the burger had clearly been micro waved and was soggy and breaking apart and the salad dressing was the most disgusting thing I have ever tasted and I like mustard dressings. The pear salad was again dressed with that awful mustard dressing and had very little blue cheese. The pears were obviousally tined pairs from tessco and wouldn't be surprised if that's were all his stock is from as we see him bringing tessco bags into the kitchen earlier that morning. So after all that the person who was cooking came out to go round to the shop and I could see why the food was no good as he was wearing shorts and a tee shirt not in my mind what a chef would wear. He was just slouching around the place I can now see why number 14 has very little custom and will certainly never be back I would not recommend here unless you want awful food awful service and only who I can persume is the owner/cook prancing about in his shorts like he was in a carry on film very disappointing

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kjim893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin L, Owner at No 14 The Village, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
As I have posted recently on Tripadvisor I prefer to engage with customers face to face to hopefully resolve problems when they occur but this "review" has left me at a loss even though I was in the restaurant during lunch service.None of the staff can find any information,what so ever,relating to it eg: no order was made for a table of two with this stated food combination,no supermarket bags came through the restaurant,our burgers are not microwaved,our in house dressings gets a lot of praise,no one complained on the day in question and lunch service has been very busy during this holiday week with people unable to get a table.
.The "review"ends using phrases like"slouching around" and "prancing about- like he is in a Carry On film" to describe one of our team simply walking through the restaurant.This is a disgraceful, and unnecessary personal attack and I would ask the reviewer to reflect on the distress such comments could cause.
Finally we have had quite a number of 5 star reviews on Tripadvisor over the last few weeks and I would like to thank all our very kind customers,the staff and I really appreciate your comments and try very hard to make the NO14 experience a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    16
    8
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere, friendly service and delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I recently spent a lovely evening with friends at No. 14. It began at the door, we were greeted with a cheerful smile and friendly welcome. Because we were a party of 3 we were lucky enough to have a corner table which allowed us a view of the cozy resto. We were presented with drinks, menus and specials of the day in an easy and comfortable atmosphere. We enjoyed our aperitifs while watching the staff interact with the other customers. As delicious smelling dishes went by we made our selections with recommendations from our server. The food was superb! My friend swooned over the Chicken Satay. The beef ragu was tender and served with a delightful kale and garlic mash. Every dish was perfectly cooked and beautifully plated. We also shared a cheese plate which had 5 different kinds of cheeses (perfectly ripened), sliced apples and grapes but the dish that forever enslaved me was the chocolate truffle cake with ice cream and raspberries. At the end of our meal the chef actually came out to greet and chat with us. he was more than willing to answer questions about his creations. I am a frequent visitor to Belfast and plan on returning to NO 14 again. Well done! Kudos to both the wait and kitchen staff! Do dine here and plan on poking around the cute gift shop too. Oh yeah, ask the waitress about her sheep.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, great value :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family and I enjoyed a lovely lunch today at No 14. The food was superb, especially the satay chicken - absolutely scrumptious. We all enjoyed our meals and would highly recommend it. The staff were so lovely - all of them were friendly, courteous, attentive and very obliging. The restaurant has a lovely relaxing atmosphere, its very clean and is well presented. We also enjoyed the attached gift shop with its beautiful and unusual merchandise. I cannot understand the negative and in my opinion very vindictive review titled "pretentiousness personified" below, they clearly must have eaten at a different restaurant?? None of my family have any negative comments to make about No 14 and we will most definitely be back soon. Highly recommended - keep up the good work :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always like I'm visiting friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Coming back to No14 is always a delight.The staff always have time for you even on a very busy day,you never feel rushed and their smiles set the tone for the yummy swirl scones and coffee we had today.I noticed a lady,on her own,reading one of the many books provided,drinking tea and listening to the very relaxing music and we got into conversation.All of use agreed no.14 gets the things right that so many other places get wrong.Long may it continue!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, good service and excellent value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I must recommend this establishment to refute a recent negative review which proves to me that Michael Winner was alive and well when reviewing No.14 The Village. Such pretentiousness is not reserved for the Staff who have have been so harshly criticised. It would have been manners for the reviewer speak to management rather than go on an "assassination" crusade of the staff and indicate the intention of a negative review. We have been frequenting this establishment since it commenced business and have always found the staff courteous, efficient,friendly and the food of a high standard. We think this review was vindictive. (We look forward to the review of the "chippie" further up the street.)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barnabas16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No 14 The Village also viewed

Greyabbey, County Down
 
Newtownards, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing