We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another wonderful stay”
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen Elm twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen
Elm twin bedroom
Summer outside Clover cottage
Brooks bedroom en suite
Brooks lounge
Brooks kitchen
Autumn garden outside Clover cottage
View from Flax cottage
Games/Function room
Games/Function room
Flax cottage lounge
Clover cottage
Barley cottage
Barley kitchen area
Barnwell Logo
Games Room set up for function
Our new fishing lake
Nearby Mt.Stewart gardens in spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Greyabbey, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
traveller...
London, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our third visit. We stayed in Elm, the largest of the cottages, but we have stayed previously in Brooks. We were not disappointed; everything was just wonderful. Ann, who lives on the site is very helpful if you need anything and the cottages are very clean and well maintained. There are plenty of logs for the wood burner which we used in the evenings when it got cooler. A welcome pack is provided.
We loved the new trails and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of this spot between the lough and the sea. Plenty to do just a short car ride away. We ate at Harrisons in Grey abbey which was new since our previous visit. Lovely views over Strangford Lough.
We will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The total relaxation
Liked least: Having to return to London!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline22...
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week at New Year to attend a family wedding. There was a group of us and between us rented 4 of the cottages; Brooks, Flax, Corn and Elm. Each was comfortably furnished with log burning stoves in the lounge and a plentiful supply of wood allowing our men folk to display their chopping skills. The setting is very peaceful and there are marked walks around the owners land with good views of the surrounding area. The games room is a brilliant touch with toys and games for all ages plus facilities to make drinks and sit & chat. The setting is ideal for several families to holiday together with a range of different sized cottages. The owner is very helpful and accommodating as is the on site caretaker (sorry I've forgotten her name). The accommodation is cosy and warm so a visit at any time of year would be ok. There were even Christmas decorations which was a lovely touch. We have all said we would come back for a return visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandacam...
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Easter trip”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the farm cottages from Tues 2nd April to Thurs 4th. Cottage was Superb and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. We found the owners very helpful and the welcome pack was a nice touch. This was our second visit and we will return.

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathand...
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil,cosy, country hideaway!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Booked to stay here only 2 days before arrival. Initially was enquiring on the phone about the cottages. I was speaking to Vi. She Basically sold the cottages to me that i booked during the phone call. The cottages were as she had described. Exellent standard of cottage with log burning fire with free logs. Adjacent to the cottages was the games room which my kids loved so much. The location was so quiet and stress free. A number of nature trails run from the cottage which my wife and I loved.
Would not hesitate in returning and recommend to all!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovesvaca...
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience. Authentic Farm Feeling!”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

very nice place to stay the fire kept the place warm and cosy. We stayed in mid winter.
Nothing else we can ask for!

The cottages was decorated very comfy and was very clean. The staff were very friendly as well.

There is also a restaurant at the end of the lane-way if you are looking to get breakfast made for you and great lates to go! This saved my late addition.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janirog01
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed 3 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I have read the other reviews and I'm struggling to understand the superlatives.
We are a family of four and we stayed recently. The cottage was clean although the bathroom basin area was a bit suspect. The shower was only hot for one person then went cold. The beds are comfortable but they are covered with big throws which are not needed, they look nice but they are obviousely not washed after every guest as the duvet cover would be. The kitchen was OK but not equiped with basics like wash up liquid and dishwasher tabs. The TV was antiquated and didn't work at all, when we pointed this out upon departure we were told that they knew this and the TV repair man was booked in. All said, it wasn't expensive, I suppose you get what you pay for.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonuk1...
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

What a fantastic place to stay. Very central to reach all the beautiful sites to be seen. The accommodation is excellent and so is the owner Michael and his manager Ann. Nothing is too much for them. Shall definitely return. Would recommend to everyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$214
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing