We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Consistently excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Greyabbey, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

JAG2013
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have now stayed in a variety of the cottages at Barnwell. We have always had a great time. The cottages are clean and well equipped. The games room is excellent for children as are the surrounding fields and gardens. This time we were able to enjoy the trails which have been put in place and just add an extra thing to do. We are going back next year as it's hard to beat when you have a young family and want to entertain them and their friends.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Games room
Liked least: No bin liners for bin - just an oversight I expect
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatonsof6...
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still superb - this time in Whin Cottage!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My sister and I stayed at Barnwell again because I'd had such a relaxing time staying there in 2011. Anne was as welcoming as always and the accommodation was perfect. I had room to move and cook for the first time in weeks. My Aunt lives locally and came to visit, she thought the cottage was delightful and couldn't get over how cosy it was - she loved it. We had a problem with the TV, but Michael came straight back to fix it immediately. My sister was delighted. Overall, still a wonderful place to visit and relax - love the walking trails and can't wait to come back again.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Didn't stay long enough to completely unwind.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky W
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our third visit. We stayed in Elm, the largest of the cottages, but we have stayed previously in Brooks. We were not disappointed; everything was just wonderful. Ann, who lives on the site is very helpful if you need anything and the cottages are very clean and well maintained. There are plenty of logs for the wood burner which we used in the evenings when it got cooler. A welcome pack is provided.
We loved the new trails and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of this spot between the lough and the sea. Plenty to do just a short car ride away. We ate at Harrisons in Grey abbey which was new since our previous visit. Lovely views over Strangford Lough.
We will certainly be back.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The total relaxation
Liked least: Having to return to London!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline22...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week at New Year to attend a family wedding. There was a group of us and between us rented 4 of the cottages; Brooks, Flax, Corn and Elm. Each was comfortably furnished with log burning stoves in the lounge and a plentiful supply of wood allowing our men folk to display their chopping skills. The setting is very peaceful and there are marked walks around the owners land with good views of the surrounding area. The games room is a brilliant touch with toys and games for all ages plus facilities to make drinks and sit & chat. The setting is ideal for several families to holiday together with a range of different sized cottages. The owner is very helpful and accommodating as is the on site caretaker (sorry I've forgotten her name). The accommodation is cosy and warm so a visit at any time of year would be ok. There were even Christmas decorations which was a lovely touch. We have all said we would come back for a return visit.

Date of stay: December 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Easter trip”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the farm cottages from Tues 2nd April to Thurs 4th. Cottage was Superb and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. We found the owners very helpful and the welcome pack was a nice touch. This was our second visit and we will return.

Date of stay: April 2013
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathand...
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil,cosy, country hideaway!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Booked to stay here only 2 days before arrival. Initially was enquiring on the phone about the cottages. I was speaking to Vi. She Basically sold the cottages to me that i booked during the phone call. The cottages were as she had described. Exellent standard of cottage with log burning fire with free logs. Adjacent to the cottages was the games room which my kids loved so much. The location was so quiet and stress free. A number of nature trails run from the cottage which my wife and I loved.
Would not hesitate in returning and recommend to all!

Date of stay: March 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovesvaca...
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience. Authentic Farm Feeling!”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

very nice place to stay the fire kept the place warm and cosy. We stayed in mid winter.
Nothing else we can ask for!

The cottages was decorated very comfy and was very clean. The staff were very friendly as well.

There is also a restaurant at the end of the lane-way if you are looking to get breakfast made for you and great lates to go! This saved my late addition.

Date of stay: December 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.