We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm Irish welcome”
other travellers have booked this property
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen Elm twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The original farmhouse (Elm cottage)  at Barnwell restored to its former glory
Elm kitchen
Elm twin bedroom
Summer outside Clover cottage
Brooks bedroom en suite
Brooks lounge
Brooks kitchen
Autumn garden outside Clover cottage
View from Flax cottage
Games/Function room
Games/Function room
Flax cottage lounge
Clover cottage
Barley cottage
Barley kitchen area
Barnwell Logo
Games Room set up for function
Our new fishing lake
Nearby Mt.Stewart gardens in spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Greyabbey, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarah B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm Irish welcome”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived, we knew we'd chosen the right place. The cottages are set in the most beautiful location, Irish countryside at it's very best. I was so impressed by the 2 cottages we rented; they were modern, clean and comfortable, but still had a traditional farmhouse feel. Everything was beautifully decorated, and the kitchens had all utensils and even a proper coffee machine! Anne, the housekeeper who lives on site, made us feel very welcome, like friends coming to stay. She also was great for recommending all the best local places to visit. A really lovely holiday!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josjuar L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“five star”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Not my first time staying here, is's been my third actually!! Absolutely LOVE this place made so many happy memories here!! Five star service lovely little cottages and a great games room!! I am definitely coming back again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAG2013
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have now stayed in a variety of the cottages at Barnwell. We have always had a great time. The cottages are clean and well equipped. The games room is excellent for children as are the surrounding fields and gardens. This time we were able to enjoy the trails which have been put in place and just add an extra thing to do. We are going back next year as it's hard to beat when you have a young family and want to entertain them and their friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Games room
Liked least: No bin liners for bin - just an oversight I expect
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatonsof6...
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still superb - this time in Whin Cottage!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My sister and I stayed at Barnwell again because I'd had such a relaxing time staying there in 2011. Anne was as welcoming as always and the accommodation was perfect. I had room to move and cook for the first time in weeks. My Aunt lives locally and came to visit, she thought the cottage was delightful and couldn't get over how cosy it was - she loved it. We had a problem with the TV, but Michael came straight back to fix it immediately. My sister was delighted. Overall, still a wonderful place to visit and relax - love the walking trails and can't wait to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Didn't stay long enough to completely unwind.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller...
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our third visit. We stayed in Elm, the largest of the cottages, but we have stayed previously in Brooks. We were not disappointed; everything was just wonderful. Ann, who lives on the site is very helpful if you need anything and the cottages are very clean and well maintained. There are plenty of logs for the wood burner which we used in the evenings when it got cooler. A welcome pack is provided.
We loved the new trails and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of this spot between the lough and the sea. Plenty to do just a short car ride away. We ate at Harrisons in Grey abbey which was new since our previous visit. Lovely views over Strangford Lough.
We will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The total relaxation
Liked least: Having to return to London!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline22...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week at New Year to attend a family wedding. There was a group of us and between us rented 4 of the cottages; Brooks, Flax, Corn and Elm. Each was comfortably furnished with log burning stoves in the lounge and a plentiful supply of wood allowing our men folk to display their chopping skills. The setting is very peaceful and there are marked walks around the owners land with good views of the surrounding area. The games room is a brilliant touch with toys and games for all ages plus facilities to make drinks and sit & chat. The setting is ideal for several families to holiday together with a range of different sized cottages. The owner is very helpful and accommodating as is the on site caretaker (sorry I've forgotten her name). The accommodation is cosy and warm so a visit at any time of year would be ok. There were even Christmas decorations which was a lovely touch. We have all said we would come back for a return visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandacam...
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Easter trip”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the farm cottages from Tues 2nd April to Thurs 4th. Cottage was Superb and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. We found the owners very helpful and the welcome pack was a nice touch. This was our second visit and we will return.

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$257
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing