We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”

Clearwater House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clearwater House B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is quite a quirky place and Bernie goes out of her way to make you welcome. We were greeted with tea and a mountain of cakes and biscuits in the lounge. The room was large and comfortable with lovely views out of the back. We needed an evening meal and Bernice suggested a steak house in Magerafelt and then Robert took us in and arranged to collect us afterwards all at no additional charge. Now that is real service!! All rounded off with a lovely breakfast. A great stay with perfect hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
40
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I had such a lovely time here, the home is spotless and beautiful to wake up in. I highly recommend staying here and the food is to die for! Bernie is such a welcoming host and made me feel comfortable throughout my stay. The beauty of this home is that it makes you feel that you are living somewhere 'homely' not in a cold clinical chain of hotels. If you are to stay anywhere, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkFountain87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The property is fantastic, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Bernie and Robert were the perfect hosts and our party of three had the most FANTASTIC breakfast - everything you could think of and more.

Dropping us off in town and picking us up after our dinner was no trouble at all, what a lovely offer after a long drive! Great location for exploring the area, everyone so friendly.

Very quiet road and comfortable beds, can't recommend enough! I'll be back!

Room Tip: All great, I liked my en-suite on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Robert and Bernie were kind, helpful, and friendly. The breakfasts were excellent. The room was comfortable and clean. They gave us advice on travel arrangements and dinner facilities.
When we return to Northern Ireland, this is where we will stay. It was truly like being with old friends. They did all the little extras that make traveling both easy and comfortable. We have stayed at B&B's throughout North America and Europe. This was a real gem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkronTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

All we can say is WOW! Bernie and Robert made us feel at home right from the start of our stay. The accommodations were excellent, as was the full Irish Breakfasts that were served by both hosts. They also provided us a lift to the town centre and back, so we could enjoy dinners and drinks at local estabishments without worrying about driving. Clearly this B&B is a hidden gem, not to be missed by travelers researching family heritage or wandering through the natural beauty of Northern Ireland's countryside and rugged coastal areas.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Recycle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is by far the best stay away for work i have had. The comfort ,cleanliness and hospitality were superb as was the breakfast. I still can`t get over how cheap the rooms are!!!
even the wifi is free.The so called big hotel chains are left in the shade when compared to Clearwater House.

Many thanks to Robert and Bernie for making a working week seem like a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Bernie and Robert could not have done more to make us feel welcome...from the greeting at the door, to the rooms to the delicious breakfast... we didnt want for anything. It was a most enjoyable stay, with very friendly people and we would certainly highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 ... Which has a great roomy shower! Very appreciated especially by my husband...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
8.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
236 reviews
8.9 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
142 reviews
5.5 mi away
White River House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,932 reviews
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antrim M2, JCT.1
5.4 mi away
Dewhamill
Dewhamill
#2 of 4 in Magherafelt
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater House B&B

Property: Clearwater House B&B
Address: 11A Ballymulligan Road, Magherafelt BT45 6ES, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Irish countryside near the shores of Lough Neagh. An ideal base for touring Northern Ireland. All bedrooms en suite including one with disabled facilities. Free transport to and from Magherafelt. Breakfast served until noon. Private off street parking. Large garden. Free transport to and from Castledawson to facilitate those using the Airporter Bus Service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clearwater House B&B Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing