We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening”
Review of Marys Bar

Marys Bar
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in Magherafelt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We visited Marys bar for a meal and a few cocktails on the 16th of July We decided to go for the 2 courses for £11.95 and every bite was delicious.We skipped dessert and headed straight for the cocktails which where served to our table by the barmaid Sarah who certainly knows how to make a good cosmopolitan.We will definitely be back for more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akelly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    39
    17
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at Marys Bar for lunch on Monday to a somewhat busy bar, we were warmly greeted and led to a beautiful table upstairs. The waitress who served us was more than pleasant and bubbly and chatty to our kids. Drinks arrived promptly and we settled into a vibrant atmosphere, considering how busy it was food arrived quickly. Fantastic meal with great flavours of food and ample portions, cannot wait to return, an amazing bar, great staff and fantastic food!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Left with bad taste in my mouth.....”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I had a recent night out with friends and we had a fantastic evening catching up and enjoying beautiful food. We had starters and main courses and the food was of very high quality. We received the bill to discover that there were 2extra bottles of wine charged for. Initially I thought this was a simple mistake but when we politely advised the young girl who brought the bill of the mistake, she was flippant, verging on rude and we received no apology at all. The girl returned to the table with an amended bill but still no apology or acknowledgement of the mistake. The staff member's demeanour and poor customer service led us to believe that this was infact not an innocent mistake but deliberate. We were all left very disappointed & have told others about our experience to advise them to check their bill before paying. We will not return to Mary's which is a pity as it is a beautiful venue serving beautiful food. Pity the staff are not of the same quality!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Castled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our party of 10 enjoyed a very pleasant Sunday lunch in the upstairs area of the premises. It was agreed that the quality and presentation of the food was very good and not expensive. Staff were efficient, effective and friendly. The decor is old style classical pub and very well maintained. The only issue we had was the air con left us feeling somewhat chilled. Overall, definitely worth a visit and we will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“nicola”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Went tonight for a meal & a few cocktails ...foods beautiful and of course lovely friendly staff, waitress was very plesent couldnt help enough thank you sharon....most definitely will be back

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marys Bar also viewed

Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
Magherafelt, County Londonderry
 

Been to Marys Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing