We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimidating manager”
Review of The Terrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Terrace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magherafelt
Certificate of Excellence
County Donegal, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Intimidating manager”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Although the hotel was clean and in a good location the manager was absolutely rude and intimidating. Whist at the residents bar he not only threatened our group he also repeatedly cursed and made false accusations at us. He threatened to throw us out stating that he didn't need our kind. He refused to refund us and refused to let one of the girls go out to her car threatening that she would not b allowed to re enter. He has no people skills what so ever. The rest of the staff are lovely and have told us that the are also intimidated and afraid of this man. I would not recommend this hotel. I am currently in the process of retaining a solicitor and requesting a written apology.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 27358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    55
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
23
35
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

From the arrival to departure, the staff were very polite and welcoming. The breakfast was very good. The room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. This was only a short stay but I would certainly stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IDG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location and quiet enough even though it's right on a main road, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and very clean, mattress maybe could have been a bit softer! Plenty of channels to choose from on the TV and the bathroom was big and very clean also! The restaurant however, even though it's modern looking and tidy the staff were a bit slow on my stay, could have had a little more urgency during dinner and the pricing is a little higher than I've experienced elsewhere but all in all a good stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeD901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just made my first visit to pub at hotel and had a good value for money 3 course lunch @ £9.95. Food was good & wholesome with big portions in main & dessert. Found staff courteous and attentive. Will certainly return and recommend to anyone who finds themselves in Magherafelt requiring a lunch venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with great service and in a great location. There are some fantastic places to eat. Make sure that when you go to the bar that you ask to meet the crazy twins! They are very funny and entertaining.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Has a boutique hotel feel and the staff are very friendly and efficient. Great nights sleep to be had. The downturn in the economy has hit Magherafelt and particularly the Terrace which used to be the best place to eat in the area is now more a cheap eat - still good value but it is losing against a new restaurant (Church St) directly across the street which is both seriously good value and has an award winning chef. Breakfast is a super Ulster fry which keeps you going all day. Recommend the hotel highly.

Room Tip: Best to try and get a back room rather than one facing onto street because of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BfpCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed in the Terrace hotel with my family, as part of the Baile Chlair na Gaillimhe feile group(Claregalway team that compete in an U14 All Ireland football competition) Complete rest at night and a good daily breakfast were a necessity and both were achieved with complete satisfaction . The staff were extremely welcoming and obliging but I could see why after meeting the the owners Paddy and Sheila , two genuine, sincere people with one goal in mind to offer a top notch service . No hawk eye needed hear to award points, everything is straight down the middle . A special word of thanks to Marco for having our jersies washed n dried daily .
Incidently we went on to win the All Ireland ! We hope be back to the Terrace again , you should try it for yourself.

Room Tip: room to the rear was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarlath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
142 reviews
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
236 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
282 reviews
19.4 mi away
Brown Trout Golf & Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Hotel

Property: The Terrace Hotel
Address: 42-48 Church Street, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magherafelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Terrace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace Hotel is centrally located in Northern Ireland halfway between the cities of Belfast and Derry. Only 30 minutes from Belfast International Airport and close to the main Ferry terminals, we are less than an hours drive from the north coast making us the ideal base for touring or business travel. Our newly renovated bar is the ideal spot to have a light lunch or evening meal, and has an extensive wine list to compliment any meal. Our sixteen modern bedrooms have wall mounted plasma televisions, complimentary high speed WiFi internet access, tea and coffee facilities and crisp white linen on king size beds to ensure a good nights sleep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Terrace Hotel Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing