We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 5 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

From the minute you step through Laurel Villa's front door, you really do feel that you have come home. Not only is it a beautiful house crammed with fascinating memorabilia about local poets and Seamus Heaney in particular, but the warm and very genuine welcome extended by Seamus and Gerardine makes it even more special. And the fact that Gerardine and I had attended primary school together and hadn't seen each other for a VERY long time, meant there was a lot of catching up to do! My room was lovely - comfortable and airy with impeccable service from my hosts. The breakfast next morning was outstanding - almost too good to eat! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this little gem to anyone who wants to get away from it all even for a short time. (And I can highly recommend Gerardine's home made pavlova!!)

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rosiepl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
78
25
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
st.helens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at the laurel villa-absolutely fantastic service from 2 brilliant hosts. Breakfast was outstanding with scones and bread fresh from the oven!!!! was there last year and going back next year

chris.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cchester916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Laurel Villa is the perfect place if you think perfection is about a warm and genuine welcome, a lovely room themed to a poet, with books to dip into - clean, airy and comfortable. Eugene and Gerardine Kielty have provided all of the above in their beautiful home.
Eugene's tour of Séamus Heaney country brought a typical Irish landscape of green fields and small towns to life with stories of events past and poems present, - a Heaney poem being read at each stopping point - a unique and wonderful experience. Eugene's love of Heaney's work and of the landscape which nourished him were apparent at every turn.
The breakfast the following morning was really good - fresh juice (not out of a carton) eggs etc cooked to perfection and home made bread/scones.
We left Laurel Villa relaxed and enriched.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandHornbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Arrived on Friday with 4 friend's for this years Cookstown 100 with a very warm welcome on our arrival now for our second stay,it is a long way to travel from Shropshire but my is it worth every mile.

It was great to see another star on the sign which is everything that they deserve for the service given during the stay and have already booked rooms for next years racing.

Breakfast!! well try it yourselfs its amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Laurel Villa Magherafelt, the home of Gerardine and Eugene Kielt,is the perfect base from which to explore Heaney country.The house is teeming with fascinating memorabilia of the poet's life and work ; framed poems,photos,first editions theatre tickets,posters, paintings and much more.
Eugene's knowledge and love of Heaney's work became even more apparent during the tour he gave us to the places immortalised in the poems.
Laurel Villa is a very special place where you will experience the very qualities celebrated in Heaney's poetry - civility,charm,generosity and hospitality - embodied in your host and hostess Eugene & Gerardine

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

From the moment we arrived at Laurel Villa we were made to feel very welcome. With characterful rooms, each themed to an Irish poet - ours was the Longley room, the decor was stunning. The breakfasts were lovely, and Eugene and Gerardine expressed genuine interest in our visit, and ensuring our enjoyment of our stay. We would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with two other couples. Great location and easy drive from international airport. Beautiful place to stay and delightful hosts. Wonderful rooms beautifully decorated and really warm welcome. Highly recommended. A hidden gem, don't miss it.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kidstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
8.8 mi away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
8.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dewhamill
Dewhamill
#2 of 5 in Magherafelt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing