We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest staff.”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The friendliest staff.”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here as part of a wedding party. We all thought Laurel Villas was great, very friendly and welcoming. Was even given a lift to the Church!

Great decor and very cosy. Really liked the bedrooms and the bedside table was a nice touch...

Would definitely go back if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyNozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
79
27
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We visited Laurel Villa late in August 2012 with two Japanese friends. Eugene and Gerardine made us very welcome, gave us a splendid meal and then took time to tell us about the unique nature of Laurel Villa and its association with Seamus Heaney and other Northern Irish poets. Eugene's encyclopaedic knowledge of SH and other poets is only matched by the fascinating ambience of this wonderful home. It was so very refreshing to find someone taking an interest in, and making accessible to others, the contemporary poetic heritage of NI.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and you'll be fascinated with whichever you choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at Laurel view Saturday 25th into Sunday 26th August. We are fortunate to be able to travel a lot and are a bit tired of souless chain hotel bedrooms so we always try to find somewhere different.

Laurel Villa is totalley unique and charming , as are their owners Gerardine and Eugene. We were made to feel so much at home and had a lovely room with real beams. I think it was called the Poets room.
The breakfast was superb with home baked irish soda bread and scones to die for.
Eugene was so helpful with Family History and nothing seemed any trouble to these lovely hosts. We would go back and would recommend the Laurel Villa to anyone. Thank you for a great stay

Room Tip: Room on top floor is fabulous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevernevernever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Amazing place that made it hard to go out explore when the surroundings are so nice!

Very helpful hosts with beautiful breakfast and scones that kept us going all day!

Stayed in room 2 it had no faults.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at Laurel Villa for two nights in August, and were charmed by the warmth of the welcome we received from Eugene and Gerardine. We loved the ambience of the Irish poetry environment, and the informative assistance Eugene gave to our family history research. The accommodation was excellent, and the breakfasts were just great. The attractive period decor gave the guest house a personal touch. All in all, our stay was outstanding - a pleasurable five-star experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, OH
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2012

If you want a unique experience & a central place to stay while touring Northern Ireland, I'd highly recommend Laurel Villa. I was there in July & I'm so glad I chose this guesthouse instead of some characterless, cold hotel in Belfast. Both Eugene & Geraldine are friendly gracious hosts. Breakfast is a wonderful buffet of fresh fruits & yogurt followed by homemade bread & scones along with an Irish breakfast made to your request. This is served in a large dining room that looks like something you'd see in Masterpiece Theater! Eugene was very knowlegable about the area and helped me find a house my mother once lived in. I would never have found it on my own. Staying in Laurel Villa was one of the best experiences of my trip and I would derfinately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyeDayton_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorhamilton, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Having just stayed in Eugene and Geraldine's beautiful Laurel Villa, how can we be expected to stay anywhere else again. We were welcomed into the absolutely beautiful characterful home and treated like royalty.Laurel Villa just invites you in and wraps you in comfort. We had the beautiful Seamus Heaney room, the luxury, the poetry, the comfort, the extras, the atmosphere, perfect. Breakfast whooo freshly squeezed orange juice, the fry, the scones fresh from the oven, how many did I eat!!! Not to mention all the information and help they assisted us with in researching my husband's family genealogy. Laurel Villa has it all, excellent food, exceptionally high standards, local history, culture and genealogy. A warm welcome that is missing from most hotels. This is gem of a place to stay and Eugene and Geraldine are outstanding hosts who made us feel like we were family. Fabulous place and fabulous hosts. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
142 reviews
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
236 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,935 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brooke-Lodge Guesthouse
Brooke-Lodge Guesthouse
#4 of 4 in Magherafelt
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing