We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit to Laurel Villa”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Second visit to Laurel Villa”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

As Irish people, we feel that Gerardine and Eugene are doing a great service to Seamus Heaney's birthplace in co. Derry by promoting his work and that of the Irish poets in the way they have represented the individual bedrooms. The house dates from the late 1800 's and is beautifully maintained yet with modern comforts. We enjoyed a leisurely Ulster breakfast with the best of food and service. The fresh fruit salad was particularly good. Gerardine and Eugene gave us a great welcome and were endlessly helpful.

Sean and Geraldine, Dublin

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 680Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
80
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Lovely place and service.
Our first time visit- beautiful hotel, friendly staff, delicious food. Peaceful comfortable rooms. We didn't want to leave!
Would go back in a second.
Highly recommend this B&B to anyone
-Mark from Canada-

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EelLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Well after a second visit to Laurel Villa, we were not disppointed.

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel so welcome and nothing is too much to ask of Geraradine and Eugene.

The location is excellent, so central for everything, the village has lots of shops, bars and resturants ( can highly recommend Church Street Resturant)
The rooms are lovely and homely with all tea and coffee you can drink.

Breakfast..... well, what can I say 'simply the best ever'!! from the warm wheaten bread and the lightest warm scones you will ever have, to the perfectly cooked full fry!!
The choice is yours..... but have it all, you won't be disappointed!!

10/10 - five stars - whatever! its the best!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed for two nights from the 17th October. Eugene and Gerardine were wonderful hosts. They were a great help with our family history search. Even down to the crayon for a grave rubbing!! Breakfast was fabulous. It was an excellent place to stay for the start for our Ireland trip and certainly set the bar high! For any future trips back to the area Laurel Villa would be the only place we would stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

First time I've stayed here and I would come again. The house is full of interesting memorabilia like poetry. Clean rooms and comfortable... Though I would stay just for Gerrardine's breakfast which is home made and beautiful.

The owners are very helpful and friendly. I was there visiting family in the area amd introducing my new fiance they helped to paint a great picture of my roots to the new member of the family. I heard them giving lots of advise the tourist come back to seek out their Irish roots.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Didn't stay here as we live locally but booked for afternoon tea to celebrate my Mothers birthday. Cannot fault the delicious homemade food and wonderful service. Very good value for money also. Would highly recommend the Laurel Villa afternoon tea as a lovely way to spend an afternoon with friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EBegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Second time I've stayed here and it's worth a visit. The house is full of interesting furniture and memorabilia. Very clean, comfortable rooms and the breakfast was lovely. I've stayed in lots of places in my travels with work but the way Gerrardine presents breakfast is second to none.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jancee179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
143 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
866 reviews
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
248 reviews
10.4 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing