We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness away from home”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sainte-Florine, France
2 reviews
“Kindness away from home”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The traveller could not possibly find a better, more comfortable house owned by more delightful, understanding and helpful persons, knowledgeable about all things Irish near and far. The breakfast is unbeatable in quality and quantity, in keeping with the Irish tradition of hospitality. Book into the Laurel Villa and you will not and you can not possibly make the shadow of a mistake. Any other establishment within miles is simply very pale in comparison. At the Laurel Villa the guest is treated with natural kindness.

Tim.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim4363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
80
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canadensis, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Have stayed at the Laurel Villa a few times while touring the north of Ireland and visiting family.
Gerardine and Eugene are the perfect hosts. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. We would take a break in the middle of day, return to the room, have a cup of tea and sit (in a comfortable chair) and read for a while. There is also a small lounge downstairs where you can bring your before dinner drink and look out onto the beautiful garden. The breakfast is awesome.
Definitely an A++.

Room Tip: Love the Seamus Heaney suite on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Afternoon tea in Laurel Villa is a truly wonderful way for you to spend a few hours away from it all with a group of friends and enjoy homemade treats in beautiful surroundings.

Gerardines delightful scones, exotic sandwiches and best of all, melt in the mouth apple tart, is still etched in my memory!

Those with an eye for detail will enjoy the decadent crockery, elegant table linen and bunches of perfectly arranged wild flowers scattered in the glorious tea-room.

Gerardines is a quality host and judges perfectly the balance between being hospitable and yet unobtrusive allowing you plenty of space to enjoy and soak in the atmosphere.

Nicola & Gabriel Muldoon

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielM576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

If you have a literary cell in your body, this is a place that will make you happy. We stumbled on Laurel Villa during a search in the Magherafelt region for my husband's ancestors, and when we were shown the room I gasped with surprise--the walls were hung with broadsides by Michael Longley, a famous Irish poet. Thus began a rich and lively conversation about our favorite Irish poets, particularly Seamus Heaney who has his own tribute room on the top floor--not to be missed. Laurel Villa is hosted by Gerardine and Eugene, who couldn't be warmer or more generous, and on the last morning of our stay, provided photocopies of the plots of the local cemetery to assist our search. But the greatest favor was the extra time they took to provide me with a rare opportunity. I teach a poem by Heaney called "The Forge." They know the man and place that inspired the poem and took the time to arrange a visit to the forge. Unbelievable. It was the chance of a lifetime to gather first-hand information to enrich my own and my students understanding. This was the best of the guest houses we visited on our trip, and I feel like we were led there by the muses. If that weren't enough, the rooms were lovely and the breakfast off the charts good. Don't miss it if you are in the area.

Room Tip: The top floor Heaney room is the most spacious. The front rooms get a bit of traffic noise (not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandAMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My stay at Laurel Villa in March as a work visit was the most amazing eperience for busy schele I was greeted by eradine who instantly created a friendly relaxing atmosphere.
As I arrived on a Sunday Eugene kindly served a wonderful array of sandwiches for a light lunch.
An evening iwith an Irish coffee in the amazing lounge filled with Seamus Heaney's books and poetic stanzas.
A luxurious en suite bedroom heatedso well on a snowy eveningfollowed by a glorious breakfast. he geerounature of the ownersxtended to a fantastic evening meal offered after a long day at work disussing the works of Heaney. As Eugene as a wealth of knowledge to share in friendly chat and with his guided tour of Seamus Heaney's life.
My stay was not only in first class surroundings in a family run caring atmosphere that will relate to anyone wishing to experience Laurel Villa nd the beauty of Maghrafelt.
Many thanks
Mel A

Room Tip: Top floor is a haven of peacefulness
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Four months later, my husband and I still recall and mention aloud our visit. The most charming, intelligent, and sensitive hosts. They anticipated our every need. And the property itself! Each room a photograph. Antique furniture and accessories filled each room, but not overly so. Books and literary references everywhere. And the breakfast was unbelievable.
We seldom stay at bed and breakfasts because they often lack privacy. The owners are needy. In their attempts to welcome, they ruin their guests' ability to savor the location. In the case of Laurel Villa, we stayed here only because it was getting late and we didn't want to keep driving back to Belfast that night.
So glad we stopped.

Room Tip: Our room had charming eaves and a window nook with small chair for reading. These people get "r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLS167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at Laurel Villa in January, we were visiting for our grandaughter's christening. Our room was charming, comfortable and nice and warm (as the weather was freezing cold when we visited in January). In the morning Eugene cooked a really lovely fried breakfast, beautifully presented on the plate and very filling, followed by mini homemade scones and bread made by Geraldine. Yes, we would definitely stay at Laurel Villa again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
143 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
247 reviews
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,059 reviews
10.4 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing