We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother and daughter's overnight stay”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mother and daughter's overnight stay”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the memorable experience of our overnight stay at Laurel Villa. The warm welcome by Eugene and Geraldine including information about the local area (especially Seamus Heaney landmarks), the vintage decor and furnishings and the beautiful breakfast all contributed to an experience we'd want to repeat and highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Seamus Heaney twin room at the top of the house is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
80
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
enniskillen, fermanagh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had a spacious ensuite room with front view. Clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast in beautiful dining roorm. Very different to other accommodations. Alot of interesting things to keep your eyes busy admiring and reading Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoreguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Staying at Laurel Villa for te second tine this year and can only sa what a delight. Rooms again first class with service that you'd expect to see at a 5 star hotel for the elite.
What was truly an amazing experienxe was dining for breakfast and lunch in the beautiful dining room. The meals were presented in such an exquiste way cooked to a very hgigh standard incorporatiung local produce.
The experience is one you would expect to see at a restauraunt run by a michelan chef.
Once agin thanks for an amazing stay,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Clearly Eugene Kielt loves his Magherafelt childhood home, Laurel Villa. Overnighting there recently, I could understand why. Tucked into Seamus Heaney Country, the comfortable house is a haven for poets, genealogists, or simply folks hoping to connect with rural Northern Irish life. Poet Laureate Heaney, who passed away in September, was a frequent visitor. Admiration for his friend inspired Kielt to add area tours to this welcoming accomodation. Repeat visitors I met there had returned to Laurel Villa in search of family 'roots'...or, was it for Geraldine Kielts's delicious baking?!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Few things genuinely deserve to be described as 'unique': but Eugene & Geraldine's B & B is one of them. It is an absolute 'must' for anyone interested in Irish literaure, especially Ulster poetry, even more especially the poetry of Seamus Heaney: the house is a treasure trove of Heaney memorabilia, some of it very rare. The room we had (the Longley room) was extremely comfortable and spotlesssly clean: the breakfast in the morning offered a wide range of hot and cold delights. Our hosts were most welcoming and keen to pass on their knowledge of the literature on display. It was a real joy to stay here and my wife and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone requirinbg accommodation staying in Magherafelt. We fully intend to return - and to stay longer.

Room Tip: We were in one room only - and it was excellent: we have every confidence that all the other room ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have just spent 3 days in Magherafelt staying at Laurel Villa on the occasion of the Open Day to mark the Tercentenary of my old school, Rainey Endowed. The excellence of the event was matched by the excellence of Laurel Bank.
Eugene and Geraldine were so friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were lovely, the standard of cleanliness could not have been higher and my bed was very comfortable.
The ambience of the place was delightful and the walls were covered with poems and pictures and other artefacts in tribute to Irish poets particularly Seamus Heaney. I was so busy meeting up with old friends and dashing about that I did not have enough time to fully absorb all the interesting things in the house. So, I will definitely return and allow more time to relax in the house.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I spent two weeks touring Ireland and my only regret is that I planned only one night in Laurel Villa, Magherafelt, the hometown of my great paternal grandfather. After visiting the archives in both the National Library in Dublin and the Public Records of Northern Ireland in Belfast, and finding nothing on my ancestor, Eugene was able to search and provide a list of possible family baptisms in minutes! I would say he is somewhat of a local treasure chest of historical information. He was also helpful in directing me to possible homes and graves of interest. However, even if you are not on a genealogy mission, this home is a mecca for lovers of poetry and 1870’s Victorian splendor. Every nook and cranny is filled with interesting antiques, books, paintings and framed literature from local Irish bards. It is a temple to the arts, and particularly to the late Nobel Prize recipient, Seamus Heaney. As for the B&B experience, our accommodations were divine and so was Geraldine’s banquet breakfast. I truly hope to return to Ireland someday… and to Laurel Villa.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montague52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
143 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
246 reviews
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,057 reviews
10.4 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing