We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Treasure”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Unexpected Treasure”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I had reservations for the night in another town, but when the windshield wipers on our rental car quit working in the middle of a downpour, we were forced to stop for the night in Magherafelt. We happened to stop just beside the Laurel Villa, and we are so glad that fate stepped in the way it did! Eugene and Gerardine were warm and welcoming, and recommended an excellent restaurant down the street for our late dinner. The room was cozy and delightful, and breakfast was delicious, with fresh baked scones adding a nice touch to the traditional Irish spread. As we were in Ireland researching my husband's ancestors, he and Eugene had a wonderful discussion about the various tools available to assist with the process. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 939mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
78
27
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I had afternoon tea at Laurel Villa guesthouse on Saturday past and it was second to none! From the minute we arrived, we were made very welcome into this characterful guest house. The afternoon tea was served in the dining room, a beautifully presented room with many items of interest, including several of Seamus Heaney's poems adorning the walls. Fresh flowers, a big bowl of fresh fruit made it all feel very homely. Geraldine, our host, brought us our afternoon tea. Infact she just kept coming with more and more cake stands! Sandwiches ( the best I've ever tasted), cream scones and a tasty selection of sweet treats - all home made without a doubt! The food was in a class of its own! Geraldine discreetly brought us more tea and coffee as we needed it and we never felt rushed! Infact afternoon tea lasted about three hours! I've been to several of Northern Ireland's top hotels for afternoon tea, but Laurel Villa's beats them all. Many thanks to Eugene and Geraldine!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loganspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I loved staying at Laurel Villa. It was built by William John Derby my 2nd great grandfather's brother for his daughter. Eugene is knowledgeable about not only local town history but about local family history sites that we could go to. I loved our rooms. They were comfortable and charming. The decor gave the whole house a pleasing ambiance reminiscent of a bygone era. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful and Geraldine was delightful. It made me proud to have Irish heritage. Eugene also told me about an exhibit near where I live featuring the poet Seamus Heaney. I would definitely stay at Laurel Villa again when I return to Ireland.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor had a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the memorable experience of our overnight stay at Laurel Villa. The warm welcome by Eugene and Geraldine including information about the local area (especially Seamus Heaney landmarks), the vintage decor and furnishings and the beautiful breakfast all contributed to an experience we'd want to repeat and highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Seamus Heaney twin room at the top of the house is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enniskillen, fermanagh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had a spacious ensuite room with front view. Clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast in beautiful dining roorm. Very different to other accommodations. Alot of interesting things to keep your eyes busy admiring and reading Enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoreguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Staying at Laurel Villa for te second tine this year and can only sa what a delight. Rooms again first class with service that you'd expect to see at a 5 star hotel for the elite.
What was truly an amazing experienxe was dining for breakfast and lunch in the beautiful dining room. The meals were presented in such an exquiste way cooked to a very hgigh standard incorporatiung local produce.
The experience is one you would expect to see at a restauraunt run by a michelan chef.
Once agin thanks for an amazing stay,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Clearly Eugene Kielt loves his Magherafelt childhood home, Laurel Villa. Overnighting there recently, I could understand why. Tucked into Seamus Heaney Country, the comfortable house is a haven for poets, genealogists, or simply folks hoping to connect with rural Northern Irish life. Poet Laureate Heaney, who passed away in September, was a frequent visitor. Admiration for his friend inspired Kielt to add area tours to this welcoming accomodation. Repeat visitors I met there had returned to Laurel Villa in search of family 'roots'...or, was it for Geraldine Kielts's delicious baking?!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
13.0 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing