We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid time at Laurel Villas in Northern Ireland”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
“Splendid time at Laurel Villas in Northern Ireland”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wonderful stay at Laurel Villa Bed and Breakfast. Every detail exceeded our expectations. The Kielts are the ultimate hosts with their lovely antiques, warm hospitality and delectable breakfast fare. Geraldine made sure we were able to celebrate our 42nd anniversary in style. After sharing our family treasures, genealogy and 1860's letters that are part of our family archives, we were able to make connections with relatives that we did not even know we had. It was like an exciting episode of "Who Do You Think You Are?" Thank you, Eugene and Geraldine!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
80
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Laurel Villa is an unique B&B. We enjoyed the poet theme.
Eugene and Geraldine Kielt were excellent hosts. The breakfast was superb from Geraldine's home baking to her attention to detail. The highlight of our stay was the excellent guided tour of Seamus Heaney Country provided by Eugene.
We highly recommend staying at Laurel Villa

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here over a wedding weekend.
Everything was excellent. We had a lovely room. The breakfast was excellent
The staff very helpful & courteous
Our only problem was the weather & that was beyond their control
Thoroughly recommended
Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Laurel Villa came highly recommended by friends of ours and we were not disappointed! Our stay was fantastic and Geraldine and Eugene couldn't be nicer or more accommodating! Their home is beautiful with everything designed for your comfort and interest. Geraldine's breakfasts are amazing particularly her homemade scones. We couldn't get enough of those and she made sure we had our refills (and the recipe when we left). We hope to return and go on Eugene's Seamus Heaney tour. His tour sounds so interesting and Eugene brings the poetry alive with the tour. Eugene also gave us some poems to bring home. Very welcoming and generous people who love what they do! During our stay, we explored Giant's Causeway, the rope bridge, etc., and Laurel Village was a great "home base for that!"

PS We have already made the scones....just not as good as Geraldine's though!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathyfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent our last evening before sailing back to Scotland in this amazing Guest House. It was indeed far more than just very comfortable accommodation and lovely food. It was a wonderful experience! The hosts, Gerardine and Eugene are rightly proud to share their beautiful home with their guests and the welcome is indeed very warm. The house is themed around Irish Poets, in particular Seamus Heaney. You are surrounded by beautifully framed poems, pictures, artwork of such marvellous quality and interest that you could spend the day happily in the house! An overnight stay was too short and we can certainly recommend Laurel Villa as a fascinating and thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Four of us recently stayed in the beautiful and unique home of Eugene & Geraldine (Laurel Villa). We received the warmest of welcomes when we arrived, even thought we were very early. The breakfast and the home made baking were exceptional, which was served in their beautiful dining room. The attention to detail overall was 100% We hope to return again soon.

Mary & Pat Dublin

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our son and daughter in law got married last Friday, and the wedding party stayed at Laurel Villa. It was just perfect Gerardine and Eugene could not have done more for us ! They just made the day so special. From the extra strawberries with the champagne to allowing us in early to get dressed. The rooms and gardens are lovely and it is so central. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patterson470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
143 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
866 reviews
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
247 reviews
10.4 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing