We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely golfing stay”
Review of Laurel Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magherafelt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurel Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Magherafelt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed here with my son prior to a golf competition in Moyola golf club.
Geraldine & Eugene were more than helpful suggested Ronan Valley golf club Par 3 where my son could practice prior to golf event as the Driving range in Tobermore didn't open until 1pm
The breakfast was perfect and really tasty. Maybe suggest to have a room at the back of the house if you are a light sleeper as traffic runs right in front of house. All the rooms have a theme of different poets so really unusual. Very UNIQUE!

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maura2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

What a beautiful friendly place . Full of poem by Seamus Heaney on the walls of my bedroom and indeed in all parts of this lovely place. It is run by Geraldine and Eugene, who were very welcoming . Lovely place and well recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Laurel villa in the Heaney Room and were really quite sad to leave. The historical and literary ambience of the accommodation was unique and we felt privileged to have spent time there. Gerardine and Eugene were warm, friendly and helpful hosts. They are busy people who do much hosting for Irish cultural events but still found time to chat. The breakfasts were superb ( especially the fresh fruit and Ulster fry ) and set us up for the day. The location is central to the North, providing an ideal base for our trips to Derry in the North West, Belfast and the glorious N Antrim coast. Most places of interest are within an hour and a half drive and traffic jams are almost unheard of in this part of the world. There is a good selection of restaurants in the town. I would not hesitate booking there for future trips.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wonderful stay at Laurel Villa Bed and Breakfast. Every detail exceeded our expectations. The Kielts are the ultimate hosts with their lovely antiques, warm hospitality and delectable breakfast fare. Geraldine made sure we were able to celebrate our 42nd anniversary in style. After sharing our family treasures, genealogy and 1860's letters that are part of our family archives, we were able to make connections with relatives that we did not even know we had. It was like an exciting episode of "Who Do You Think You Are?" Thank you, Eugene and Geraldine!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Laurel Villa is an unique B&B. We enjoyed the poet theme.
Eugene and Geraldine Kielt were excellent hosts. The breakfast was superb from Geraldine's home baking to her attention to detail. The highlight of our stay was the excellent guided tour of Seamus Heaney Country provided by Eugene.
We highly recommend staying at Laurel Villa

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here over a wedding weekend.
Everything was excellent. We had a lovely room. The breakfast was excellent
The staff very helpful & courteous
Our only problem was the weather & that was beyond their control
Thoroughly recommended
Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leighs592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Laurel Villa came highly recommended by friends of ours and we were not disappointed! Our stay was fantastic and Geraldine and Eugene couldn't be nicer or more accommodating! Their home is beautiful with everything designed for your comfort and interest. Geraldine's breakfasts are amazing particularly her homemade scones. We couldn't get enough of those and she made sure we had our refills (and the recipe when we left). We hope to return and go on Eugene's Seamus Heaney tour. His tour sounds so interesting and Eugene brings the poetry alive with the tour. Eugene also gave us some poems to bring home. Very welcoming and generous people who love what they do! During our stay, we explored Giant's Causeway, the rope bridge, etc., and Laurel Village was a great "home base for that!"

PS We have already made the scones....just not as good as Geraldine's though!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathyfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magherafelt
7.6 mi away
Apparo
Apparo
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
147 reviews
5.7 mi away
White River House Hotel
8.8 mi away
Ardtara Country House
Ardtara Country House
#1 of 1 in Upperlands
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
255 reviews
13.0 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
13.2 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Address: 60 Church Street | Northern Ireland, Magherafelt BT45 6AW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Magherafelt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Magherafelt
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a small family-run hotel in Magherafelt or the Mid Ulster District? Look no further. Just read the reviews and see what others have to say about this top class Magherafelt accommodation. This is an award-winning 4 STAR boutique townhouse located in the centre of Magherafelt town in Northern Ireland. Secure parking.Specializing in Irish/Ulster-Scots genealogy and Seamus Heaney Poetry & 5 Star Tours of Heaney Country. Personal service guaranteed and good home cooking. Excellent value for money. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars etc all within a few hundred yards.Less than 1 hour takes you to Belfast, L'Derry, Antrim Coast/Giant's Causeway.Has received outstanding reviews in The Guardian, Observer, Irish Times, Sunday Telegraph etc. Recommended by all the best guide books including National Geographic, Good Hotel Guide and Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Magherafelt, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing