We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple....Scottish.......Success” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kildrummy Inn

Kildrummy Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St Helier, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple....Scottish.......Success”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Having stayed for a short break, while visiting parents, we cannot really vouch for the main food here....as we ate at parents...however, the food we did see was of an amazing standard....I can vouch that every breakfast was a joy.....David was on hand the whole time, he is a wonderful chef, having been voted Scotland's top chef of 2013.......so no pressure then????.....you will not go hungry, great choice of food.....lots of tea and coffee....and with the knowledge that every dish is created on site, all baking is done by David, all desserts we know are hand crafted by David.......I would expect that given the chance, our chef here would even source his fish from his very own fishing boat!!!....all food sourced from reliable and very high quality Scottish sources.......suggest you loosen a few buttons.......you will love the food here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    22
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine dining on a budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had been staying near to Clatt for a few days during our Scottish touring trip and were recommended the Kildrummy Inn over a drink or two in the Forbes Hotel in Alford. Passing by on a Tuesday evening, we tried the front door (best to go round the side), and were told all tables were booked. Fortunately, over a drink in the bar, we were told that a single diner had vacated his table early so we could have dinner. The short menu was a pleasant surprise, so too was the food and the bill (£23 each for two courses). The starter and main plates looked appetising and the presentation/flavour combinations were spot on. A memorable meal in a friendly welcoming inn.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J0hnP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow - Best Sunday Lunch had in quite a long time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Great ingredients perfectly executed. Certainly intend returning to discover the various culinary delights and specialties on offer. Very few places in Aberdeenshire can deliver great tasting fresh food at a reasonable price together with excellent service with a smile. Well done to the team at Kildrummy Inn, keep up the good work and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend with stunning food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Fabulous weekend with friends! Gorgeous food, great hospitality - we will all be back! Thank you David and Nigel

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best food in Scotland?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I am astounded at the quality of this restaurant. The best , by a long way, food I have had anywhere in Scotland. All I can say is that everything was absolutely perfect from presentation to flavours.!

Definitely worth a detour....But book first!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DukeD666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kildrummy Inn also viewed

 
Alford, Aberdeenshire
 
Alford, Aberdeenshire
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Kildrummy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing