We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY IMPRESSIVE PLACE - EXCELLENT FOOD AND SERVICE”
Review of The Alford Bistro

The Alford Bistro
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
386 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“VERY IMPRESSIVE PLACE - EXCELLENT FOOD AND SERVICE”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our journey back from a weekend away took us via Alford on a Sunday afternoon. Alford was quiet, but we were glad to see the Alford Bistro was open for business.

We’ve visited twice before and been very happy with the food and service.

On Sunday, after a very substantial hotel breakfast, we were after a snack lunch, but something to fill us up so no evening meal had to be cooked by me – always the deal if we’ve been away.

The bistro was quite busy, but our timing meant we were lucky enough to secure a window table, which is always a bonus.

We both fancied soup – tomato for me and broth for my husband. Both were delicious, and came in large bowls with great bread and a butter. Very good value for money at £3.95.

To finish we had a large pot of tea and 2 delights from the cake and traybake trolley – I chose a chocolate slice made with honey coated roast nuts in it and on top. The other choice was what looked like a Carrot Cake, but was actually a Walnut Cake with similar cream cheese frosting. Both were delicious – our compliments to the lady who has recently begun supplying these irresistible treats to the Alford Bistro, (according to the staff).

Our bill came to around £15. The food was great - just what we wanted. The service was really excellent, as it had been on our previous visits – very welcoming, pleasant, friendly and attentive. That is probably why it is such a popular place.

The toilets are also very impressive, for those who like to know that kind of detail.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Larsonsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    82
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coach Party”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I took a coach party of 40 to this Bistro. Everyone in the party agreed the quality and taste of the food was excellent. You could not anymore from the staff, they were extremely helpful, courteous, accommodating and most of all friendly. Our service was both slick and professional. I would 100% recommend this venue to people. Well done all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Will Return”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very surprised to read the negative comments on a couple of recent reviews as our experience couldn't have been more different ( we were there today).

We were welcomed with a smile and were invited to take a seat. A few minutes passed before we were served but nothing particularly out of the ordinary. We had the burgers with cheese & chilli which were served with a lovely, colourful side salad and chips. At £7.95 for a decent plate full, we thought it was excellent value. A lovely dessert followed plus a nice latte coffee.

The printed menu was supplemented by a daily blackboard with lots of choice. The bistro restaurant was pleasant and clean. The toilets were immaculate.

We were very impressed with this little gem which is open 7 days a week and apparently serves evening meals from Weds to Sunday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JudgeJudy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“consistently good”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We visit the Bistro every few months. coffee and cake, lunch or dinner and its always the same - good. The food is always up to the same high standard, reasonably priced, the staff are friendly and nothing is a problem. Cant say better than that! There is only one thing - I had wild mushroom and white truffle ravioli a few months ago and it was fantastic - better than what I've had in traditional restaurants in Italy, make it a menu staple and not just a special!! If you're in the area and looking for a place to eat, ignore the negative reviews and go along.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmummywebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ridiculously rude waitress and slow service”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Rude waitress who verbally attacked my husband and commented on his weight. Don't see how this was appropriate. Order was mixed up and I was forced to pay for a dessert which was disgusting and I didn't eat. A horribly burnt creme brûlée. Won't be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lovemuffin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thealfordbistro, Owner at The Alford Bistro, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Lovemuffin,
My wife and I, as owners of the bistro are appalled to hear of your recent experience. We have worked tirelessly over the past 25 years to establish our restaurant as a cosy family run friendly establishment. It's quite clear we failed miserably on this occasion.
We're very sorry indeed that you encountered such poor service and I would extend that contrition to your husband also.
Our staff are well drilled in the paramount importance of good and friendly service and clearly someone has fallen well short.
It would help us greatly if you could give us a description of the waitress in question so that we can take immediate corrective action.
We would also like o offer you a full refund for everything you had on this day.
Please call the bistro and ask for John or Danni and we can arrange for your refund to be collected and give us a chance to apologise in person.
Once again, very very sorry for your experience.
Kindest regards...John & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alford Bistro also viewed

Alford, Aberdeenshire
Alford, Aberdeenshire
 
Alford, Aberdeenshire
Alford, Aberdeenshire
 
Alford, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Alford Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing