We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We had three days at the Kildrummy Castle Hotel and were treated like friends. Everything about this hotel is outstadingly good, and the efficient but unobtrusive service was just about perfect. We ate in the Bretagne Restaurant each evening, and the food produced by the French Chef was delicious. A very well-run hotel and not to be missed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Kildrummy castle is a beautiful building in beautiful grounds! The staff we encountered were all very friendly and eager to please, however there is just a few wee niggles I feel are letting the place down.
Firstly in our room, all but one of the windows had been painted shut so the room got a bit stuffy at times and the housekeeping cupboard door was constantly left open ( which I realise is a bit nit picking - but it just detracted from the beautiful building!).
My main comment though is about the food. When I saw it was a French chef, i was lulled into thinking that the standard would be good. However, I was let down. The amuse bouche of vegetable mousse was OK, but under seasoned. Our starters, mine a salmon and asparagus tart, and my partners of a scallop and truffle vol-au-vent were both large and tasty, so our hopes were raised. Unfortunately the main courses, mine of (overcooked) duck breast and my partners of chicken ballotine, lacked flavour, imagination and presentation skills, which caused me to feel they were poor value for money. Our desserts of chocolate fondant were also overcooked. Therefore in summary the food was OK, but reeked of the 1970's. I would perhaps advise the chef to reduce the size of the menu and basically do fewer things better!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank easylifeInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. Surroundings are beautiful. The castle hotel is a castle in itself, including of course very classic and dated furniture. The room was likewise, dont expect the newest bathrooms. Do go for the great restaurant, very friendly staff (though one of them can be somewhat stressed ;)) and the really classic atmosphere.
Internet was not very fast but available throughout rooms and spaces so convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asperine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We returned to Kildrummy hoping to reprise a memorable visit 16 years ago, and it was just as much fun this time. At the risk of sounding melodramatic, the setting is idyllic. If you are reading this, you already know about the mansion and the picturesque castle ruins adjoining (not part of the grounds - it's an Historic Scotland property which you enter from down the road). But the hotel's own gardens (4 pounds entry fee) down along the "wee burn in the den" provide for an nice evening stroll and great views (& photo ops) of the castle looming above. The friendly staff tried hard to us make us feel like "landed gentry" befitting the manison - which we're not.

We didn't experience any problem for breakfast as did a recent visitor, but there is only one harried lady rushing around taking orders and bringing coffee - so I can believe that it might take a while to get your coffee if you arrive at the wrong time. We learned to get some juice and a croissant from the buffet and relax until the waitress could get to us. Our only knock was dinner: the lamb as disappointing and the salmon ordinary. But sometimes you have to make allowences for the ambiance.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Kildrummy Castle Hotel is tucked away in a lovely location. This is a large extremely well maintained hotel built in 1900. The main reception rooms are all decadently furnished and wood panelling abounds along with open fires which give a lovely homey feel. Our bedroom which was a standard double was surprisingly spacious, as big as some suites in other hotels we have stayed. Food was excellent the chef being French and the service was warm and friendly. My only complaint was breakfast which, on our visit, was very disorganised bordering on chaotic we couldn't even get a cup of tea! We decided to have this in our room. Not good. This however was our only niggle and hopefully this was a one off and other guests would find that this has been addressed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is in a classic Scottish country house a few yards away from the picturesque ruins of a wonderful castle. Between house and ruins is the most beautiful simple garden, created by a small stream in a rocky gorge. The hotel is owned and managed by an enthusiastic French lady and her stunning daughter. Coming in the front door is stepping back to a different era: log fires, spacious public rooms and an excellent restaurant. Bedrooms are very large, most it seems with great views, and comfortably furnished. Fiona and her colleagues provide friendly and efficient service ..... And it's great value. Hard to fault!

Room Tip: Chat up the owner's daughter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Simply stunning! How could anyone not like the Kildrummy Castle Hotel. It's location, the buildings history, the friendly and knowlegeable staff and the food in the restaurant both at dinner and breakfast was superb. Although a large hotel, the atmoshere is really relaxed and all the staff make you feel individually special. Both my wife and I were really disappointed to be only staying for one night, but if we go to this area again, we would stay here without question. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
6.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
292 reviews
19.3 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
406 reviews
11 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
264 reviews
20.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
652 reviews
15.9 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range: £76 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing