We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely One Night Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely One Night Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Had a wonderful time at this hotel; service was very good, the room was delightful, and the food was quite delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed are stroll through the adjoining gardens and hope to stay again during our next visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    87
    28
    17
    11
See reviews for
66
207
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is made very enjoyable by its staff and the historical atmosphere of the hotel and its setting. Roaring fires and really good food. Ive stayed a few times often to get away from the madness of the Aberdeen hotel market and never regretted the drive. The last time I stayed on a leisure visit and was able to appreciate it properly, as was my wife she loved it. The views of the ruined castle in the morning are fantastic.

Room Tip: get a first floor room with castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTHaslemereUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmei-Yosef
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our second visit here, and its the same fantastic place. The two ladies running this beautiful hotel make it so pleasant to stay in. All the public rooms are so nice - just sit there and enjoy. The whole place is well heated. It was our best 3 days in Scotland.

Room Tip: All rooms (I saw) are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6campo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

What can I say, just had a beautiful weekend away in this highland retreat. The hotel is situated just about 30 miles outside Aberdeen in the underrated Don valley. Its a further 18 miles up to the Lecht ski centre and reasonably close to the East Highland towns of Alford and Huntly. The hotel is reached by a long drive past the impressive Kildrummy gardens. When aproaching drive slowly as its single track and pheasants and red squirrels are plentiful. You arrive at an impressive hallway with a reception just on the right. Reception may not always be manned as tyhis is a small family run hotel and we had to wait a couple of minutes before signing in with an exceptionally friendly front of house. We stayed in one of the superior rooms which justified the tag, it really was an exceptional room 3 times the size of the chain 4* rooms one might stay in and furnished beautifully with 19th century period pieces. Room temperature was comfortable without being hot and additional electric heaters are in place to supplement the central heating if the outside temperatures or the personal taste really desired more heat. The room was serviced regularly with tea and coffee and bed turn down service. A small flat screen served for TV and at first I hadn't spotted it and was hoping for no TV but the wife was pleased there was one!
The only down at the moment is the bathroom which is sufficient with a reasonable shower pressure but very dated fittings and surprisingly cramped layout but this is something I'm sure the owners will address in turn as they have only been in place a year. We ate at the restaurant which I will review separately but it was excellent.
All the staff at the hotel deserve special praise for their friendly demeanor and professional behavior, of special mention the front of house lady, the French owners bith mother and daughter were great, the London chappie who worked in the bar, the brilliant Canadian waitress (thanks for the best Irish coffees I've had this year) and the exceedingly pleasant efficient and knowledgeable gentlemen who ran the breakfast room.
The log fires in the hall and lounge are just what I love along with the classy classical wood paneling, great art and decor. The pheasants on the lawns are a joy and the silence around the area is just what one needs from time to time to escape the mundane 21st century rat race we live in. We'll be back.
Two points of what I would hope are constructive advice would be 1) prioritize the bathroom upgrading and 2) ensure there is a mobile or portable phone to contact the hotel with, upon return my sister informed me she'd phoned 12 times during the past week with the intention of ordering a bottle of wine for me but on no occasion was she able to speak to anybody despite varying the call times. By the way there is a mobile signal here and free wifi in the hotel. We'll be back see you in February and have a great festive season.

Room Tip: Don't book my room when I want to be there!!! You can't go wrong here to be honest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed for one night and had dinner. The food was phenomenal, the service exceptional and a fantastic room overlooking a 13th century castle. 10/10 for this place. I would say that the meal I had was was the best meal I have ever eaten. The hotel is very tastefully decorated. I definitely will be staying over again. Only fault I would say was the heating was playing up but apart from that a faultless hotel.

Room Tip: Defo worth visiting!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheechgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stunningly beautiful location and elegant Scottish country house thoroughly let down by poorly trained European staff and poorly cooked and presented French bistro food. We were expecting a warm Scottish country hotel experience with locally sourced food and highland recipes.not bouef bourbon on or coque au vin. The staff were polite but with only four other couples staying at the hotel during our stay we were surprised by the absence of any front of house service and we were never welcomed or addressed by name.
It was interesting to be told, without any prompting , by local people that the hotel was once a popular venue with them under previous ownership.

Room Tip: Superior grade rooms are better proportioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKTravelWatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Claude, Elise and Fiona are friendly, caring and fun. They provide the most welcoming atmosphere, along with the heritage and history of Kildrummy Castle Hotel. The hotel is decorated tastefully, keeping in tune with it's heritage and history. The rooms are beautiful, and the view of the ruins of Kildrummy Castle are exquisite. This hotel is ideal for a stay if you are business in Aberdeen being just 45 minutes from the City, and gives you a gentle retreat from the hustle and bustle of business life. The food is glorious, the welcome is glorious and I would recommend this hotel unreservedly.

Robert Johnson

Blastrac UK

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robweiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
11.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
19.8 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
19.3 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
15.9 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
13.9 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Property: Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing