We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, perfect stay after Braemar Gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming, perfect stay after Braemar Gathering”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel is beautiful and the staff are wonderful. Fiona, tending bar, helped me pick a lovely pre-dinner scotch. I found this hotel last minute to stay the night following the Braemar Gathering. The old furnishings, the drawing room, and library all overlooking the lawn were so charming. Yes - the floors squeak a bit, and most things are a bit dated, but that's he charm of it! Even the heavy key that's an actual key instead of a card. Wish I could have stayed longer than one night. If you want modern, stay in the city. But if you're looking to step back in time then this is the place. I almost wished I had a giant frilly dress and a corset to wear while walking around the beautiful, timeless grounds. Almost.

Only complaint (if you could even call it such) was the bizarre artwork they had on the walls. Weird, modern art that was so out of place with the charm of the rest of the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    91
    29
    17
    11
See reviews for
74
224
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We visit this glorious establishment frequently and have never had a bad experience. Warm, clean, friendly, with welcoming hosts and wonderful food. Claude and her team have invested a lot of themselves in this venture and it shows. Would heartily recommend to everyone. Booking advised.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmac23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Less than an hour from Aberdeen city, and perhaps only 45 minutes from the airport, but worth a lot longer trip than that. A 100+ year-old house surrounded by fantastic gardens and next to a 700+ year-old ruined castle. Fabulous food, attentive service, great rooms. If you expect "all mod-cons", then perhaps this is not the place for you. But if you appreciate some history and style then Kildrummy can be thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aberphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I had a very pleasant experience here, staying for a couple of nights. The room was recently refurbished, and the overall décor /ambiance of the hotel is very impressive, as the reception rooms all retain the original carpentry- dating from when the hotel was a grand private home, owned by a local industrialist. The standard of service and cuisine was of a high standard, A plus are the adjacent gardens, which are managed independently, but which can be accessed from the hotel. These offered the opportunity of a stroll through mature woodland gardens, attractive even in December.

Room Tip: I think it would make sense to discuss one's requirements with the management , who are very hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farafield_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Had a wonderful time at this hotel; service was very good, the room was delightful, and the food was quite delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed are stroll through the adjoining gardens and hope to stay again during our next visit to Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is made very enjoyable by its staff and the historical atmosphere of the hotel and its setting. Roaring fires and really good food. Ive stayed a few times often to get away from the madness of the Aberdeen hotel market and never regretted the drive. The last time I stayed on a leisure visit and was able to appreciate it properly, as was my wife she loved it. The views of the ruined castle in the morning are fantastic.

Room Tip: get a first floor room with castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTHaslemereUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmei-Yosef
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our second visit here, and its the same fantastic place. The two ladies running this beautiful hotel make it so pleasant to stay in. All the public rooms are so nice - just sit there and enjoy. The whole place is well heated. It was our best 3 days in Scotland.

Room Tip: All rooms (I saw) are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6campo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
6.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
270 reviews
11.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
352 reviews
19.3 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
579 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
13.9 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Property: Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing