We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Poor initial welcome and left standing at reception. Good spacious room but no central heating working in the bedroom or bathroom ~~~~IT WAS FREEZING. Food quality poor and lukewarm
Excellent location and building but the Hotel is very badly run.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank robertson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    87
    28
    17
    11
See reviews for
66
207
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

A really fabulous stay for valentines day at Kildrummy castle hotel.
Great place we wandered around the castle area, it is a beautiful spot and a great hotel. with charm warm ambiance and superb service. Dinner was delicious could not have chosen a better spot to spend the evening and night.
Elise and the team at the hotel really know how to make you feel welcome and at home.
room was comfortable and well appointed and the staff went out of their way to attend to any special requests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just spent another amazing weekend at the Kildrummy Castle Hotel. I've had a busy few weeks and really needed a stress free escape to the country and thankfully this was delivered with ease. On arrival we were greeted by Elise, like others here have said it really feels like you're visiting fiends and family such is the authentic welcome here. The upgrading of the en suite facilities is going ahead apace as well as delightful change of decor. The French flair is showing through mixing well with the traditional Scottish to provide a delightful experience. The valentines day menu was wxcellent, every course perfectly cooked and the accompanying wine was excellent and of course the whisky from the well stocked bar provided the right internal warmth. Breakfast has changed from fully served cooked to full buffet with just the eggs and poached haddock now needing to be ordered.A good range at breakfast each day and it really sets you up sharing it with a vision of pheasants on the lawn... Second night again everything perfectly cooked and the rump steak was one of the best I've had. It's the people and setting that set this place apart as special for me. We'll be back!!!....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night last Saturday.

I was made very welcome by Claude (the owner) Elise (her daughter) a Fiona (manager). I was treated as if I was one of the family, or at least a prospective member.

The hotel is truly stunning both from the outside and within. It was built as a hunting lodge at the turn of the last century by some wealthy Scottish industrialist I think. It is clear that no expense was spared on its finish. Inside, the walls are lined with oak panelling and tapestries. Talking of oak, there is a jaw dropping carved oak staircase that leads up to the sixteen guest bedrooms on the upper floor. The room I stayed in was quite delightful with breath-taking views of the romantic ruins of the 13th century Kildrummy Castle. The room was well appointed with a flat screen TV, a very wide, comfortable bed and lovely antique furniture.

I have read a number of reviews on this hotel and while most are profuse in their praise of this heavenly place there is the odd critical comment on the slightly dated appearance of some of the en-suite facilities. Be assured that Claude is tackling this minor niggle with a programme of upgrading that should be finished within a few months.

I met Gary the head chef and can say that he and Claude have put together a mouth-watering French menu for the restaurant. This is changed on a seasonal basis I believe to reflect the best that Scottish produce has to offer. The shellfish in particular can be recommended. Amongst other things, I feasted on expertly cooked, hand-dived scallops that were enormous and very tasty. The wine list is entirely French (as is Claude) but it is very extensive.

One very slight niggle was the lack of phone signal (on Vodaphone). Claude told me that if I stood in the library (yes is has a library with an amazing ornate plaster ceiling) it would work but I never got a chance to confirm this.

Without doubt this is one of the most idyllic and beautiful hotels have ever stayed in. Like the owner it exudes class and charm.

Nigey rating 10/10

Room Tip: Ask for one with a good view of the castle and a refurbished bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Me and my husband are currently visiting friends in Monymusk and were struggling to find anywhere open to have lunch (apparently most of Scotland shuts done for January!). Our friends had been to Kildrummy castle before but not under the current ownership. We received a very warm welcome and the food did not disappoint. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. Next time we may even stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGeorge08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel is beautiful and the staff are wonderful. Fiona, tending bar, helped me pick a lovely pre-dinner scotch. I found this hotel last minute to stay the night following the Braemar Gathering. The old furnishings, the drawing room, and library all overlooking the lawn were so charming. Yes - the floors squeak a bit, and most things are a bit dated, but that's he charm of it! Even the heavy key that's an actual key instead of a card. Wish I could have stayed longer than one night. If you want modern, stay in the city. But if you're looking to step back in time then this is the place. I almost wished I had a giant frilly dress and a corset to wear while walking around the beautiful, timeless grounds. Almost.

Only complaint (if you could even call it such) was the bizarre artwork they had on the walls. Weird, modern art that was so out of place with the charm of the rest of the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We visit this glorious establishment frequently and have never had a bad experience. Warm, clean, friendly, with welcoming hosts and wonderful food. Claude and her team have invested a lot of themselves in this venture and it shows. Would heartily recommend to everyone. Booking advised.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmac23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
11.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
19.8 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
19.3 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
15.9 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
13.9 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Property: Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing