We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having visited this establishment in Feb/Mar we decided to treat our neighbours to a special dinner bed and reakfast treat. This has got to be the most disappointing experience of a lifetime. Whilst the hotel and staff were of the usual high standard the restaurant was abysmal. Upon expressing my extreem dissatisfaction to the check out receptionist, this was met with apathy. I have no idea what has gone wrong at this hotel but one thing is for sure " the problem needs to be addressed sooner rather than later". We witnessed several diners returning their meals for whatever reason and this in itself speaks volumes for the problems that require to be addressed.Having spent several short term breaks at what used to be a superb establishment with excellent service to be subjected to a "self service" breakfast of poor quality was the ultimate insult. Never shall we return.

Room Tip: Each time we have stayed at this esablishment the room has been of exellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jvr911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely birthday meal with my husband. Lovely surroundings, beautiful meal (not perfect but close) and very friendly staff with excellent service.
Lovely areas to sit and enjoy a drink in a beautifully maintained Scottish castle! Will be back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharoniainham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

From the arrival into a toasty warm great hall on a bitter cold day, to the newly refurbished and fantastic bedroom (their largest - Stronagairch or similar name) with the view out over to the castle, everything was cosy, welcoming and fantastically clean. Really clean- a rare accolade from me. Large flat screen TV, little seating area by window, HUGE bed and wardrobe. In bathroom, would prefer a shower attachment on the wall for the bathtap hose fitting as juggling it all and washing hair etc was a challenge but plenty of hot water.
The public rooms are very atmospheric; but it is the staff who add the extra something here - warm, welcoming and friendly. Even the lady cleaning the rooms the next morning could not have been nicer, showing my husband around some of the other bedrooms.
We ate in the restaurant that evening - excellent menu choices, and the prices were more than reasonable for this quality of hotel and the meal we had. Breakfast was a small cold buffet and had to order a hot meal. The ordered grilled tomato turned out to be only one half of a tiny wee vine tomato, no tattie scones or hash browns and no beans. We felt that breakfast was the only wee bit of a let-down in our stay.
Locally you can visited Kildrummy Castle opposite, Crathies Castle 30 mins away and the small town of Huntly 20 mins away. And of course the hotel is amongst some stunning gardens run by a charitable trust - but not sure if access to them is free for guests. We are really looking forward to returning here soon.

Room Tip: Book their best room overlooking the Castle opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

To celebrate my husbands retirement we had a gathering of friends and family at Kildrummy Castle Hotel.The evening started with a champagne reception followed by a sit down meal for 14. The library and fantastic long table proved to be a great room for our celebration.
Service was friendly and professional and the food was great,and enjoyed by all in our party.
My husband and I and 6 of our guests stayed the night, the rooms were spacious clean and well presented.
Thank you to all the staff at the hotel for helping to make the evening very special for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank padg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed on the night of 18th March 2014, a family room , with my wife and teenage daughter. We were so happy that we did what a lovely hotel and the staff were so nice. The room we had was both spacious and extremely comfortable. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast . We will definately return.

Room Tip: Denburn family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Strathpeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I spent the night here as a birthday treat, and it really is wonderful. The hotel and the grounds are just beautiful, with stunning views and abundant wildlife - perfect for an afternoon stroll on a nice day.

The exterior sets expectations high, and the interior areas don't disappoint. Every room we saw of this hotel was lovely, from the grand hallway with its welcoming open fire, to the beautiful four-poster bedroom we stayed in. There's a totally-immersive "period" feel throughout (it's like something from the pages of an Agatha Christie novel!) which I can appreciate might not suit everyone, but we loved it. There is the odd wonky tap and slightly worn fixture to be found, but personally I feel that maintaining original features is far more important than having everything brand new and shiny.

We took afternoon tea in the drawing room, and dinner in the dining room, and both meals were delicious. (And again, two more exquisite rooms!) The wine list is a sommelier's dream, all French but very extensive, covering a wide variety of styles. Breakfast was buffet-style (with eggs cooked to order), and whilst the choice was huge, I'm not a great fan of this style of service as inevitably the food's cooler than I like it. My wife (who loves to play Devil's Advocate!) pointed out that some people prefer this because they are allowed to help themselves, so I accept that this is somewhat a matter of taste.

Where this hotel absolutely excels, however, is the staff. This is genuinely the best team of hospitality staff I have ever encountered, every one of them friendly, efficient and effortlessly charming. To sum up their approach, we were told that the hotel was our home during our stay, and that is exactly how we felt.

We are already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottish_sightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Poor initial welcome and left standing at reception. Good spacious room but no central heating working in the bedroom or bathroom ~~~~IT WAS FREEZING. Food quality poor and lukewarm
Excellent location and building but the Hotel is very badly run.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank robertson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
6.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
282 reviews
11.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
371 reviews
19.3 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
625 reviews
20.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
620 reviews
20.1 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range: £101 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing