We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and quiet beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed for two nights for two nights with my girlfriend and we really enjoyed the place. Not because of its services or restaurant, more because of the spirit of the place. The building and surroundings are really impessive and beautiful. The garden, just astonishing. One can just feel the history there. It was very quiet over there, almost too quiet, no music, no noice, no sound. The restaurant and food wasn't really for us, but the service was quite ok nevertheless. I warmly recommend this for couples in love, but not for families with children. People running the place are really friendly and the atmosphere is real and not too formal. Unique experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Henrik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a beautiful building in an absolutely stunning setting. Very peaceful and lots of wildlife to watch and enjoy. Bedroom very clean and lovely four poster bed resulting in a comfortable sleep. Everything stylish and appropriate and executed well. Have booked my next stays already. Situated 33 miles from aberdeen but well worth the drive through lovely countryside to get there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

we stayed here for two days after finding a good deal for a room at Kildrummy, Beautiful setting near the old castle and overlooking a nice garden with many small wild animals around. We had a nice clean spacious room with a comfortable bed, Good breakfast and friendly Staff, we did not have dinner since the prices was a bit above our budget, but there are a few good restaurants a short drive away.

The Negative:

Was presented the wrong bill on checkout, this was sorted only after some confusion, bathroom dated and damp due to ventilator not working. Poor WiFi performance. Soundproofing to corridor poor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hahnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Next to fine Kildrummy Gardens and Old Kildrummy Castle (13th century).
The new house designed in 1900 in Jacobean style on a fine terrace.Many original features.
New owners and some first day young French waiting staff.
The only major alteration in the main rooms is the extension of the dining room into the original kitchen. With 16 bedrooms and 35 miles from Aberdeen.
We ate a simple group lunch and bought the last drops of draught beer at the little bar.
Watch the red squirrel in the garden.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our last visit so much that we had no difficulty in deciding where in Aberdeenshire to stay. Again top level service and warm and friendly management and staff, in this beautifully located hotel.

My wife, who is something of a culinary connoisseur noted from the menu that there was a new head chef. And we felt that the food, which was still very good, was not quite up to the superb standard we experienced on our last visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a 2 night stay at the hotel and it was excellent.
Unfortunately, we didn't get to sample the dinner, but would heartily recommend the tea and scones for an afternoon snack, they were superb.

A teeny-weeny niggle was the limited choice of cooked food at breakfast, but all the great British staples were there, bacon, sausage, black pudding, eggs etc. At such a place I might have expected choice of kippers or some other "cooked to order" options. However, what we did have was absolutely perfect.

We had a very slight problem with temperature control of the shower in our room and as soon as I mentioned it to the owner, she offered to upgrade and move us to another room.

To me, that is perfect service; there's always a possibility that something won't work perfectly, but the measure of a great hotel is the way the staff deal with it and they were excellent.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the front of the hotel with views of the castle ruins, but I believe they cost mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K60PAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had only seen pictures of this wonderful place before I booked it. We arrived around 5:30 on a beautiful sunny Easter Sunday evening which only enhanced the initial impressions of the place.
From the moment we walked through the door the service and attention from the very friendly staff was immense and very welcomed. We had cocktails and walked around in the gardens of this romantic and picturesque setting watching pheasants, rabbits and pigeons feeding in close proximity.
We stayed in the Bulwark room a very warm and relaxing room with a beautiful view of Kildrummy Castle and hills beyond. the bed was very comfortable and bathroom more than adequate
Orders for dinner were taken while having cocktails and then we were led to the dining room when our table was ready. Located near the window with a nice view of the gardens and wildlife.
The food was cooked to perfection and the table service prompt, courteous and very friendly.
After a peaceful and comfortable night we returned to the dining room for breakfast and were treated to a traditional Scottish breakfast buffet with some awesome food and once again a very friendly and prompt service.
The only disappointing aspect for us was that we had only booked in for one night and will definitely return for a longer period and will be bringing some friends with us.

Room Tip: As noted in the review we stayed in Bulwark room and the view was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterNIcoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
6.7 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
287 reviews
11 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
374 reviews
19.3 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
641 reviews
20.1 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
263 reviews
15.9 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildrummy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildrummy Castle Hotel

Address: Kildrummy, Alford AB33 8RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alford
Price Range: £93 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildrummy Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kildrummy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kildrummy Castle
Kildrummy Castle Alford
Kildrummy Castle Hotel Alford, Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing