We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great overall experience”
Review of Great WALL

Great WALL
Ranked #10 of 12 Restaurants in Alford
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Alford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not great overall experience”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have had a few takeaways from this Chinese and have encountered several problems, chicken balls being raw in the middle, rice being microwaved and hardened, noodles very greasy and the chicken is very dry. The sauces with the dishes are generally good, the staff are very friendly and willing to help. It's a quiet atmosphere as not many people go to have a sit down meal, I also think the drinks and other beverages are overpriced. Seeing as it's Alford's only Chinese I would maybe return there, but if the food isn't up to standard again then I definitely won't be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakeyown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    5
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I am local and we had a meal last winter. The food was fine and freshly cooked. Service was good. Very quiet hence lack of atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craggan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An excellent Chinese restaurant for a small village”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Have to echo the thoughts of the first reviewer of this restaurant. The Great Wall is reasonably local so we have dined there several times and have found the service and the quality & standard of the food ranks alongside the best Chinese restaurants we have ever tried.

You are made very welcome from the outset, and we found nothing was too much trouble for the waiting staff who were always happy & smiling. As the previous reviewer said, if you get the chance to order the buffet then that is what I would recommend, as everything is cooked to order. You can order as much as you wish, so it also represents excellent value for money.

They also offer a take-away service which seems to be very popular - hardly surprising as it is of similar high standard and value.

All in all a very welcome addition to Alford's dining-out options.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonSider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisburn
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

very little flavour and just typical non chineses imitation food. quite expensive for the offering.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hammy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Superb Chinese Food and First Class Service”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is the only Chinese restaurant in Alford but this doesn't mean they don't try hard. It offers both dine in and take away service and we have used both quite a few times. They do a very nice shredded chilli beef and my father in law finds thier beef in black bean sauce the best he's ever had.
Unusually for a Chinese restaurant they do a fairly authentic Thia red curry which I can recommend.

If you get there and they are offering the "buffet" I can highly recommend this. It's not a buffet as such as they don't have dishes of cooked food ready but rather you choose from a menu and they then cook it fresh.

You can order as many starters as you wish for your table then main courses with your rice etc. You can order as many dishes as you can eat and if you have a large party this is a great way to try out different dishes.
They will quite happily bring dishes to you as long as you can eat them and the food is all of a high quality. (they reserve the right to charge for wasted food)

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daveydites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great WALL also viewed

Alford, Aberdeenshire
Alford, Aberdeenshire
 
Alford, Aberdeenshire
Alford, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Great WALL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing