We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming”
other travellers have booked this property
Seating for 4, parasol and chiminea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating for 4, parasol and chiminea
Morso wood burner in lounge Seating for four
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Seating for 4, parasol and chiminea
Morso wood burner in lounge
Seating for four
TV with Freeview and DVD player
Comfortable fireside armchair.
Welcome pack on arrival
Plenty of glassware with outdoor plastic glasses and plates in cupboard
Fully integrated appliances - dishwasher, washer/drier, fridge/freezer
Good pressure shower
Selection of maps, books and DVDs
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Steps up from car parking area
Patio gets the sun from late morning to late evening
View from back lounge window.
View from garden
View from garden down to parking area
Dogs always welcome
Views from nearby Whitehaugh Forest tracks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alford, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shona M
1 review
“Welcoming”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

Beautiful, spacious,& welcoming is Smithy Cottage,a very generous welcome basket from the owner Karen it was so lovely to meet her,lovely garden a joy to sit in wonderful views in a peaceful location and the weather was gorgeous, we enjoyed visiting Alford had a nice fish supper,also Aboyne & Inverurie, we would defintely come back for another holiday to Smithy Cottage even Bella our Old English Sheepdog loved it. Thank you xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Thank you for your lovely review here and in our visitors book. It was lovely to meet you both and the gorgeous Bella. We look forward to seeing you again, best wishes Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chakelski
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our second visit to Smithy Cottage, just for a long weekend this time.
It was every bit as wonderful as our first visit. Spotlessly clean, warm, cosy, and a lovely basket of goodies to tide us over until we go to the shops (there is a smashing little Coop in Alford, just a 5 minute drive away).
I'm sure our dog knew exactly where he was when we pulled up in front of the cottage, too, as he wasted no time in bounding right up to the front door!
We did very little on this visit, except lovely walks and chiiling in fron of the log burner. Total R&R is what we wanted and exactly what we got.
All too soon it was time to leave. Had we been leaving a day later we would have been snowed in because of the "Beast from the East". Shame we weren't!!
Thanks, Karen, 'til next time! ;-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2018
Thank you for such a fabulous review. We are so pleased you enjoyed another break at our cottage and got some well deserved rest. Yes you certainly would have been snowed in. The cottage garden is still under snow. We look forward to seeing you again, many thanks, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thumbsupt...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Myself and my partner have stayed at Smith Cottage on several occasions and can't rate it highly enough. A beautiful location and a gorgeous homely cottage. The cottage has everything you need and there is a lovely log stove for the chilly nights. It's pet friendly too which is great. Our dogs love it here, I think they prefer it to our on home! It's a perfect place for a relaxing weekend away in the Scottish countryside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for another lovely review. We are so pleased you love the cottage so much and enjoy your visits up here. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolliypop...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, secluded country cottage in stunning landscape”
Reviewed 31 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This cottage has everything you could want. The location is peaceful with fantastic views and no-one nearby. The cottage is cosy, clean, well decorated, well equipped and furnished. Karen is very helpful, the welcome pack is one of many lovely touches and the log burner adds a that extra bit of pleasure when the weather closes in.

This is the best I have ever stayed in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. You even got a little snow. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n7laing
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely secluded cottage”
Reviewed 23 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A home from home. Very nicely decorated cottage, equipped with everything I needed. The signal for the TV not so good on some channels however.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review. I apologise if you had problems with the TV reception. This is the first complaint we have had and we will therefore get this checked out. It is only Freeview with limited channels. Many thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gary w
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yet another relaxing stay at Smithy Cottage”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This was our 4th stay at Smithy Cottage and yet again, it was cosy, comfy, stylish and beautiful. I even proposed to my lovely Haze here, after another fabulous meal at the Kildrummy Inn. The log burning stove and candle lit cottage, with roe deer in the garden in the mist truly set the tone.

We adore this place and how Karen treats us - she delightful and she had left us a lovely bottle of fizz to help us celebrate too!

Many many thanks and we shall be back again in February at the latest.

Regards,

Gary & Hazel and the hounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Thank you for another fabulous review. We were thrilled to be part of such a special occasion. I particularly loved the way you proposed to Hazel We look forward to seeing you both soon. Congratulations again, Alan & Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doreen W
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Another fantastic week at Smithy Cottage despite the rain, warm and comfortable can't recommend this lovely place enough, visited places not been before in Alford Heritage centre and Transport museum as weather not good still plenty to do looking forward to our next visit. Lovely welcome basket just what you need after a long journey to save shopping till next day at the local co op where there is everything you need, also recommend visiting the local charity shop in Alford where there are always some unusual finds

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Thank you for another fabulous review. We are pleased you enjoyed your latest visit. Thank you for the lovely card and calendar. We look forward to seeing you again. Many many thanks Karen & Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing