We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A castle in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Corgarff Castle

Corgarff Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.43*
and up
Historic Scotland Explorer Pass
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Strathdon
Attraction details
Bonnyrigg Scotland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A castle in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had passed by on many previous occasions but this time we had Hungarian visitors with us and they wanted to stop and have a look!

The castle is small but gives a true representation as what it must have been like to have been a "redcoat" stuck in this bleak part of Scotland miles away from anywhere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonythemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindale, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stark white castle against lush green surroundings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

It is a nice visit. This castle stands out against its surroundings. It is well restored to how it would have been when it was barracks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stunning Location, Unusual Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

I've been trying to get to this small castle for 20 years. I was first attracted to it due to its mix of 13th century tower house with 18th century defences added by the Government to quell Jacobites and police this area of the Highlands. It is not a big castle, but very well presented and a friendly welcome. We visited on a cold but sunny day and the white washed walls stood out in the scenery very well. While agreeing there is not much to see, we still spent 90 minutes here exploring inside and outside. Entry for us was cheaper as members of CADW we could gain discounted entry in Visit Scotland properties.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TMRDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronneby, Sweden
Level Contributor
771 reviews
490 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Much to see from the outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

I hesitated between a 3 or or 4 in this case since much of the greatness of this place is its location, which you can enjoy from a distance. The inside of the castle is not much to see really - three-four rooms of which some of them are displayed as they would have looked some 150-years ago, the other rooms mostly empty. Quite expensive too if you compare with what you get. Photos are however allowed which made the difference for me to put a 4 instead of a 3.

The views of the castle from the surrounding hills IS the main attraction of this place, and if you have a deeper interest in Castles I can recommend a visit - otherwise stick to the views. Bring a good zoom lens!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint castle in the middle of the Cairngorms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Corgarff Castle might be a little bit off the usual castle trail, but if you're passing this way a visit is certainly recommended. Unusually for most Historic Scotland castles it is not a ruin, but is preserved in its whitewashed form as it was when it was used as a barracks. The interior has been likewise reconstructed, complete with soldiers' bunks and even uniforms hanging from pegs! There are interesting displays up describing the history of the castle through uprisings, illicit stills, and road building campaigns.

A visit does involve a short hike uphill in order to get from the car park to the castle itself. However, once you're up there you're rewarded with some lovely views of the Highlands -- nice enough in the mist, but probably even nicer on a sunny day!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corgarff Castle also viewed

 
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Corgarff Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing