We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ace food, ace chef”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allargue Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Strathdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Food here is amazing, the sauces are too die for. Lovely atmosphere too! Didn't realize I had to write 200 characters but that shouldn't be hard for this place. It's also a few miles from the Lecht, a brilliant wee family ski resort which is used for mountain biking in the summer, and the views are stunning

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Leon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here after getting snowed in while working at Corgarff and couldn't have wished for a better place to end up. Yes, the rooms are basic - there's no tv, but they are clean and at the end of the day, a very comfortable place to put your head. If you book into a hotel with the sole purpose of staying in your room and watching telly then there's something wrong with you, quite frankly, especially when the craic is as good as it is downstairs at Briggie's Bar.

It's not the Hilton, nor does it claim to be. What it is, is an honest, unapologetic, no frills hotel, with great food and hospitality. Seriously, the food is amazing - even though I ordered a fantastic ribeye steak, my OH's fillet with haggis was definitely the star of the evening. And the cooked breakfast in the morning was just outstanding. This is a strange thing to say, but the toast was probably the best toast I've ever had - I know it's essentially warmed up bread, but it was awesome!

We found the price to be extremely reasonable - accommodation, 2 course steak dinner, breakfast and LOTS of alcohol for 2, coming in at a smidgen over £150.

Yes, the owner has dogs and there is a faint smell in the hall, but if that offends you then you really need to get a life. The dogs, when they passed through the bar, were very friendly and added to the whole atmosphere of the place.

The staff were also incredibly helpful and friendly, can't fault them at all. It was really lovely chatting to them and the locals in the bar after dinner.

All in all, if you're a bit precious and like a bit of luxury then drive on. If you like good, honest food, good booze and good company then this place will suit you grand. I would happily get stranded there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laru77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Allargue Arms is situated towards the southern end of the highest road in Scotland, a very out of the way spot in deepest Aberdeenshire. The views from the hotel, which has tables outside to take advantage of it, is very dramatic - hills, heather and the eighteenth century Corgarff castle - stunning on a good day, atmospheric when the weathers's bleaker. This is no grand hotel, but a simple country inn - but it wins because of the staff who couldn't be nicer. The batman also turned out to be the cook for our simple tasty lunch (great beef and ale stew and a savoury chilli)Mwith some nice and well presented beers. He could not have been nicer or more efficient. We didn't stay, having only time for our satisfying lunch, but would imagine it would liven up in the evenings with locals and tourists in the friendly bar/restaurant. We've passed this place for years, never venturing in, but that will certainly change in future. A simple local hostelry and very pleasant stop

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasperco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We spent a night there.... Some good points and some really negative points. Note that We were the only ones in the hotel.
The hotel is in the middle of the fields and the mountains. It is rally nice. We had a beer on the table outside with the sunset. The view is beautiful and we enjoyed it. We had diner there. The food was home made and really good.

Here come the negative points.
The owner was not really interested in knowing who we are and if everything was ok.
The hotel is quite old and looks quite dirty...
It smells the "wet dog" and tobacco in some rooms
The bedroom was small and the bathroom was not clean.
We had to pay 68£ instead of 60£.

Finally, I recommend to go there only to have lunch or diner but to overnight somewhere else....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thibault S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We didn't overnight here but stopped for a lunch when we were in the area recently and had very good food so a place worth remembering if you're in this neck of the woods.

We both went for the burger, which was handmade, and the chips - again handmade - were really delicious. The chips were just how we like them: crisp and with good old fashioned taste, which often escapes the mass produced frozen ones.

The chap who was working couldn't have been nicer and obviously enjoys what he does. Very attentive but not intrusive.

I imagine this place would be fantastic mid summer when you can sit out and enjoy the views and I'm sure a great place, in the evenings, during winter when the bar's busy.

A little tired in places but I think it does have character...the bathrooms however would benefit with a makeover as they were pretty basic and could have done with a clean.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank IrishEyesSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

An ideal location for those into their outdoor pursuits,walking,fishing the upper Don,sightseeing etc.Euan is always friendly ,helpful towards guests and offers value accommodation & good food & beer. Euans steaks are to die for,you wont leave disappointed.After a hearty breakfast,why not visit the nearby Corgarff Castle or a walk into the Cairngorms.Would also make an ideal base for a short skiing holiday.Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Was expecting better for the money. Hallway smelled of wet dog, room was freezing, not very friendly but perfectly placed for the Lecht. Qudos to the guy that did breakfast in the morning, he was friendly and food was good. Apart from that, i personally won't be staying there again, but as you can see, others did like it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Allargue Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allargue Arms Hotel

Address: Corgarff, Strathdon AB36 8YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Strathdon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strathdon
Hotel Class:2 star — Allargue Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional little hotel in the Cairngorm National Park. Overlooking the historic Corgarff castle perfect for starting whiskey/castle trails. Set amongst some of the most dramatic scenery in Scotland. Within easy reach of Aberdeen or Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Allargue Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allargue Arms Hotel Strathdon, Scotland - Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing