We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apart from the grumpy mine host, it was ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colquhonnie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colquhonnie Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Strathdon B&B and Inns
scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Apart from the grumpy mine host, it was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Owner not helpful, but location, food and hotel was ok, well the shower was a dribble, but what do you expect in such an old building?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gimpytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    8
    3
    23
See reviews for
7
34
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here I was a bit dubious about staying here but Paul was a really great host and made us very welcome.The staff were excellent and the food really good both at dinner and breakfast.The room was clean and warm,plenty of hot water for shower.The two little dogs were really well behaved and no problem at all.We had a Groupon voucher for our stay,it was the first time we'd used them for a hotel but there was no problem at all.Excellent value and will be staying here again on our next visit to Scotland.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rosylee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The owner made us feel totally unwelcome and uncomfortable, denied we even had a booking despite the fact our name was in the diary at the bar and we had a printed email confirmation?? He seemed to take pleasure in telling us that there was no chance of getting an evening meal, the following morning he was incredibly rude, grumbling and complaining about the fact he'd had to get up at 9 am to prepare our breakfast! He hadn't even bother getting properly dressed, cooked our breakfast in an old pair of joggers and a dirty T shirt, totaly grossed me out! his scrawny flea bitten dogs sat scratching and begging at our table. Felt so sorry for my poor Wife.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perthshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The guy who we spoke to to book in was unwelcoming, couldn't be bothered to show us around. Acted and spoke to us as if he didn't want us staying there. I explained if he had called me and mentioned it wasn't a good evening for us to book we would have happily changed our booking, but he was still rude and unhelpful. He ddn't fulfill the groupon voucher promises. Then the next morning for breakfast told us he didn't want to get up that morning. He was extremely rude and grumpy and we felt very much as if we were unwelcome and unwanted all through the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SABperthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Having read some of the reviews here, we arrived at Colquhonnie House with some trepidation, but our fears were very quickly laid to rest - the owner was extremely friendly and welcoming, with his two very cute little dogs shuffling around our feet as he gave us our keys. The room was clean and warm, dinner was excellent, and there were a couple of very tasty Scottish beers on tap in the bar; the staff were also attentive and friendly. We had a lovely evening, a good night's sleep, a hot shower in the morning, and then a great breakfast to fill us up before setting off to enjoy the countryside nearby. Especially when considering the price (using the groupon voucher), it was nigh-on perfect...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We arrived on a Groupon voucher deal and were greeted by the proprietor (presumably). He informed us that he had had a horrendous time with Groupon guests who had taken the wine and chocolates and left without paying. We were given a family suite which was unacceptable as it had no en suite facilities, and the shared bathroom had no running hot water. The bath was streaked with grime and dirt, and a door could easily be opened onto the roof space with no safety barrier. Thank goodness we were not travelling with children. The wallpaper in the bedroom was held in place with sticky tape. The room was freezing cold thanks to the single glazed window which allowed the wind to blow in. The wine and chocolates we were entitled to were not present. I spoke to the proprietor who was unhelpful and rude. He offered an alternative room only if the couple who had booked it had not arrived by 7pm. However, they arrived at 8.30pm and were given their room even although he had promised it to us after 7pm.
I requested that he check the lack of hot water in the bathroom but he refused to come up the stairs.
On a more positive note, the waiting staff were very pleasant and the dinner was very good. After dinner when it became apparent we were not being moved, and there was still no hot water despite the proprietor saying that it had been sorted, we decided to leave. He refused to come and talk to us as we checked out, and left his very nice waitress to do it.
We will never return to this outdated, old fashioned and very badly managed establishment, where the only positives are the lovely staff. Highly unrecommended.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Travelled up for 1 night stay.Dont believe all the negative reviews and take the place as you find it.Very friendly staff and lovely meal.rooms were basic but no different from hundreds of other small hotels and very clean.Glad we travelled up and stayed.Ian&maria

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian71035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Colquhonnie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colquhonnie Hotel

Property: Colquhonnie Hotel
Address: Strathdon AB36 8UN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Strathdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strathdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Reopened we are a fun sometimes lively hotel in the cairngorm national park close to the Ski Hill with in the boundary of the cairngorm Natianal park family run hotel with dogs on site ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colquhonnie Hotel Strathdon, Scotland - Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing