We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queensberry Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Annan
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The stairways to and from the rooms were shabby and smelt of smoke. These were the only faults I found. The staff were welcoming, friendly and worked hard. The food was really nice and value for money. The hotel was quite at night. Because of my work I had to leave at 0515 so didn't get breakfast, the staff kindly made me a packed lunch on both days.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_mozza_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Its a small ex "Inn", privately owned where the owners & staff can be seen running around. If you think about basic, but clean & for an overnight stay, where you can drink & eat cheaply but well, then this could be for you.

The (mainly) young staff, were quite brilliant & informative - referring us to the best local pub for a short walk & nice beer.

We couldn't recommend highly enough for the overnight stop over.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandTRuralSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is the third time that myself and my two traveling companions have used this place as a stopover. The hotel really does offer incredible value for money and has a restaurant that I only wish I could beam down to Surrey, providing of course the meal prices did not change.
Our triple room was comfortable rather than luxurious and very clean, at this point I should say that the hotel does not have a lift so if you are on the top floor it helps to be at least reasonably fit.
For me the icing on the cake are the staff, be it the lovely young woman on reception, the restaurant serving people or the lady who was cleaning the floor on the way out, they where all brilliant.
It would be very easy to say that things here and there are not perfect, well so what. In the 1990s I spent years living in four & five star hotels as my job took me away from home. I would have been delighted to have found a place such as this, with it's friendly ambiance, good food, pleasant rooms, ample car parking and did I mention breakfast? That is definitely not to be missed.
It is my hope that I will return here soon and as my wife has seen the Christmas menu that just might happen.

Room Tip: Take full advantage of the restaurant the food is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-wandering-fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

going home from ullapool this was our our 3rd time at hotel. our room was clean and comfortable. the receptionist is very professional both in person and on the phone, all the staff were helpful and cheerful, breakfast are very good,the evening meal was superb, its not the ritz but it is the most value for money hotel I have ever stayed at . the town around the queensbury arms has not changed much except not so many charity shops maybe, the blue bell inn is still the highlight of the town. at the far end of the town is a Tesco extra with a cheap petrol station .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshineman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Its not the most perfect hotel but the welcome you receive to second to none. The home cooked meals are top notch and the staff bend over backwards to accommodate. Very good value for money and the rooms are very clean, albeit a little dated. Overall experience was fabulous and we will be definitely staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotstuff805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very helpful receptionist. Rooms basic as is breakfast - but good. Request peppermint tea in rooms for those non-tea or coffee drinkers. Hotel needs brightening up a bit as there's lots of wood.Is ok for an overnight stop if visiting Dumfries or other Solway Firth attractions. Rooms are clean but rather small for family wanting to watch TV! Shower needs attention. Good menu in restaurant for those who choose to eat in the hotel. Good parking facilities for town main street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margareth724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights as we were attending a wedding nearby. Clean spacious room (although shower curtain was a wee bit dirty round the bottom), free wifi in public areas, breakfast was brilliant, freshly cooked and delicious. Decor is a little bit dated but that certainly didn't dampen our experience. Staff were attentive, welcoming and really couldn't do enough for you. We arrived quite late on a Friday night and the bar was still lively, this place is clearly popular with the locals, but is also very easy to find for outside travellers like us. Free car parking is available behind the hotel. Great value for money, would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annan
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,075 reviews
12.8 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
150 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
156 reviews
9.5 mi away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silloth
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Arms Hotel

Address: 47 High Street, Annan DG12 6AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Annan
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Annan's bustling main street, just 7 miles from the border, its impressive facade has stood proudly since its days as a coach house. The Queensberry Arms now has 28 en-suite rooms all with freeview TV, tea and coffee facilities and a telephone. It also has a Restaurant, Public Bar, Function Room and Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Queensberry Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensberry Arms Hotel Annan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing