We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queensberry Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Annan
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a night in June whilst travelling up to see family and we're so glad we did. I can see that this hotel is work in progress but I really cannot fault it. Service was fast and very friendly, couldn't do enough for us and made us feel at home. Good value for money for what is given. Food was lovely with generous portions.

We would definitely stay again without a doubt! Thank you for such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We called in for lunch as we found it hard to get a restaurant serving food other than snacks in annan. We were shown to a table by a young waitress with dyed red and black hair (dont know her name) We were given a lunch menu and asked if we wanted a drink I asked to see the wine menu which she rolled her eyes at and got one off the next table. The waitress arrived with the wine held against her with the glasses. These were shoved onto the table. We ordered our food, as there were 2 types of menu I chose the light bite menu ordering the lasagna. When we poured the wine it was warm, we asked for a ice bucket and was served a glass of ice instead! we put the ice into the wine to cool it and then i discovered it was not the wine we had ordered! to late to return it because of the ice in it.When we received our food mine tasted different, Then i discovered i had the vegaterain version i could not find the waitress as there appeared to be a large group in the other room being attended to. I left the food. While my husband paid the bill he was charged full price off the menu i did not choose. I would not recommend this restaurant if you want serice and good food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was the worst experience of my life. We booked a two night stay for a friends wedding. After driving 10 hours, we were shown to our rooms. This is where it all started. We refused to stay in the room provided, the smell of damp was so extreme, it was full of dust and dirt, no enamel left in the bath, we had a room with a double bed, single bed and then a bed with no mattress on it, screws and tools left in the room. I phoned down to reception the phone stuck to my face it was that dirty. They offered us another room which was just as bad. The four of us that were staying there ended up sleeping in one room, they refused to provided us with an extra mattress so one of us had to sleep on the floor. The kettle and coffee cups provided looked like it had never been cleaned. Breakfast was included but we refused to eat there due to the smell and dirt everywhere. On check out we explained we were only paying for one room for one night, even though this was accepted, the manager was rude and could not understand why we did not enjoy our stay. I provided him with a few pictures I took from the room and he could not explain why. Do not waste your time or money. This hotel needs to be condemned!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haymeg10, Owner at Queensberry Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Opportunists. Saw the size of one of the rooms and realised that all four could share. Stayed two nights so it must have been awful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After travelling from Portsmouth to Annan for a friends wedding in Gretna we arrived to the Queensberry quite late (about 21.00).

The outside of the building is what you would expect for the area but the outside was the only best bit about the hotel!

Greeting us was a lovely lass who didnt have a clue. She appeared to have been dropped in the at the deep end and we felt very sorry for her. On check in she gave us keys to room 17 and 18. The front desk was untidy and just not what i would expect from a hotel that wants to make first impressions good impressions.

She gave us no indication of when breakfast was or where, what time check out was. She directed us with hand jestures as to where our rooms were...so off we trot to our rooms which after a 10 hr drive was a welcome thought.....after a mammoth climb over dirty carpets and avoiding the odd tumble dryer and washing machine abandoned in the stair well and hallways, we reached our rooms and to say we were gobsmacked is an understatement. Room 17 was fine........which was right next door to room 18 which was far from fine. Room 18 seemed more like Room 101......where everything goes to die! When we walked in we were hit but a smell of damp. Wallpaper was hanging off the borders. then we noticed 2 singles and a double bed in the room.....one of the beds..(the top half of the a bunk bed of which the bottom half was in room 17) had no mattress. Tools were left on the dresser. Everywhere was dusty. The glasses were dirty and the kettle had stained on it! My friend rang to speak to reception, the phone was dirty and greasy, the bathroom was black to mould and very dated.The windows were black with mould and hadnt been clean for months...... BUT THE SHEETS SEEMED CLEAN!!!! My friends refused, rightly so, to accept the room and suggested that we all bunk in together in rm 17 with just a mattress on the floor and we could sort it out in the morning. After discussions with what we can only assume was the manager, this idea was rejected and we were offered a room on the other side of the hotel.....which may as well have been in Carlisle is was so far away. We requested rooms together so we could stay together.

After what seemed like for ever we decided to go to the bar for a drink (another experience) The till didnt work and the bar maid ....who was also on reception, who amazingly is a house keeper aswel....asked one of the regulars to try and open the till.......so whilst she was serving us out drinks, hes got the till upside trying to prize the draw open. We got our drinks and sat away from the bar in order to talk privately about the room. The tables had obviously never seen a clean cloth let alone Mr Muscle multi purpose cleaner.....we put out purses down on the table and it stuck to the table........as did out elbows and our glasses. We didnt want to sit back in our chairs as there was old dried food in the folds and back creases of the chairs.

Eventually this "vision" of management appeared ...dressed in baggy t shirt leggings and Mini Mouse slippers. She told us that Room 18 had been cleaned and was ready for us to move in. My friend refused to accept that a decent level of cleaning had been achieved in 15 mins. Miss Mini Mouse told us that it would not be appropriate for them to be moving mattresses at that late time of night..(it was about 22.30) so we said for them to give us some bedding and one of us would sleep on the floor! NOT IDEAL IN ANY SHAPE OR FORM!!!!

With that we said good night........ preparing ourselves for the delights of the Queensberry in daylight.

We decided not to eat in the hotel....purely through common sense more than anything else. If front of house is dirty....what are the kitchens like. Walking through the hotel to the car in the carpark.....we noticed mountains of dirty bed linen just dump in the hall ways. The worst ironing board cover i have ever seen......so dirty, ripped, brown and heat stained it looked like it had been dragged over the Pennines. Past more dirty linen tumble dryers filthy hoovers, broken bits of furniture from chairs to doorless wardrobes. We got outside and found the doors to the wardrobes......on the biggest pile of rubbish stacked up in the corner of the car park. Old TVs pallets, carpets, chairs......perhaps they were saving it for Guy Fawkes night. we noticed lovely plant pots adorning the parking spaces......perhaps the money spent on that could be put to better use inside the hotel on cleaning materials.

After going out for breakfast we were hoping that a solution to the problem would be achieved......NAH!!! It was only till more friends for the wedding turned up that there was a hint of moving into Room 16.....that hint never materialised and before we knew it that room was occupied! We were assured that a mattress would be placed in our room although moving furniture would be required.We found out that there was free WIFI in the hotel...not from the staff but from another "inmate"......shocking!!! The Shower!!!!! 3 settings......scolding, freezing or off!!!!! no power behing the water it was as though we were on a hose pipe ban!!!....we had to start getting ready at 13.00 to ensure that we all had showers and able to wash our hair successfully.....it got so bad that we considered booking into the hairdressers across the road as it took forever to wash our hair. At 1700hrs we left for the wedding, still no mattress....by this time id lost the will to live and just laughed.

On returning from the most beautiful wedding i have ever been to......we found a mattress...YAY...in our room...YAY.....not made...bedding just dumped on top...BOO......after a night of drinking and merriment ....the last thing anyone wants to do is make a bed!

in the morning, we assumed check out was 10am......no one told us...there was no info book in the room. We joined out other friends to check out all together.......our friend greeted us with....Do these look like flee bites????? All up her legs were bites....We tried to check out with the first girl....she called for Hannah.......we mentioned the flee bites.....she called for the manager.......who quite frankly a dress like Rab C Nesbitt but was English. His t shirt was torn, he was dirty and sweating profusely. He point blank refused to accept that what my friend had on her legs were flee bites. He blamed midgeys which is ridiculous coz it had been raining all weekend and midgys bite indiscriminately. He refused to accept that the carpets were dirty and the kettle and the ironing board until we showed him photos.......He was rude and discurtious....and his attitude was.....this is an old building......what do you expect. After showing him the proof of our complaints he charged us for one night which i still think is a bloody cheek.... when one of us had to sleep on the floor....we couldnt use the tea and coffee facilities, the showers were useless, plug sockets in ridiculous places, no chair to sit and do you hair in the mirror.

If your looking for luxury you'd be better off in a Premier Inn.....if your looking for Fawlty Towers and you want to be spoken to like dirt this is the place for you.... the photos are misleading and do not show the hotel in its full light. If youve already booked....take a bug spray, your own kettle and glasses.

this hotel is not cheap and definately not cheerful........not good value for money. I will add pics later when i can down load them!

I welcome comments from the Hotel management

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank debndaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haymeg10, Owner at Queensberry Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Nasty opportunistic people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay. We travelled up for a family wedding 25 miles away.on arrival I found the reception area extremely untidy and not at all giving a good first impression, when a member of staff finally came to attend to us although she was very friendly she really hadn't a clue about our booking
The Room itself was dated but clean , the shower was an absolute waste of time , we had to use it as a hose to have a decent wash !!!
The first night we decided to eat in the hotel and I have to say the food is the hotels only saving grace it was excellent
Breakfast not good at all , tables not cleared away so the dining area looked a complete mess !!
The breakfast just about edible that's as much as I can say
On the whole my advice use the hotel purely for short stay purposes , don't think we will be returning anytime soon

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here one night and were very comfortable. The room was very spacious and clean with a large ensuite. It was all very dated, particularly the ensuite, which has a large Jacuzzi bath which was very discoloured and the taps dripped continually. That said, the price was very reasonable, beakfast was very good and the staff were very pleasant. The owner explained that our room was next in their programme of refurbishment and I am sure that when finished, the room will be fine. Our stay was comfortable and at a good price, in a good location on the high street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kraftterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My partner and I have stayed at the Queensbury twice now (December '13 and March '14) and we love the hotel! It has so much character and history being an 18th Century Coaching Inn, the rooms are tastefully decorated with really comfortable beds and quality furniture. The owners are lovely, they'll go out of their way to make sure you have a good stay and a good breakfast, even offering to get veggie sausages and soya milk in for us. The staff are nice and friendly too. The restaurant menu is large with a great selection for vegetarians, and the bar prices very reasonable. We can't imagine why anyone wouldn't enjoy staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurajoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annan
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,080 reviews
10.2 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
12.8 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
329 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensberry Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry Arms Hotel

Address: 47 High Street, Annan DG12 6AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Annan
Price Range: £53 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Annan's bustling main street, just 7 miles from the border, its impressive facade has stood proudly since its days as a coach house. The Queensberry Arms now has 28 en-suite rooms all with freeview TV, tea and coffee facilities and a telephone. It also has a Restaurant, Public Bar, Function Room and Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Queensberry Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensberry Arms Hotel Annan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing