We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rowanbank Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gretna Hall(Gretna Green)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
38
17
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
17
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedgreat breakfasttrain stationhigh streetthe ground floorb brelaxing stayfront of the housesmall towncould not have been more helpfulother guestsfriendly welcomeoff road parkingsarahloungehostslandlady
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

First, the good. Polite and friendly owners. Good cooked breakfast. Quiet and well situated for a 2 minute walk to Annan, High street, and a minute to the Railway Station or local Swimming Pool. A comfortable TV/Lounge area with a good library selection. The Hotel appeared clean and had a well laid out dining room. Now, the not-so-good. We had room 6, which contained 2 doubles and a single bed, a small (Too small) flat screen TV and the usual expected furniture. The room was as expected for this type of establishment: Adequate. The big problem was the distinct odour from the bed linen and quilt covers, (as if not used for some time). The same and possibly worse, from the Bathroom towels on both days that we stayed. There was a sour and fusty smell to all the towels, which my wife attributed to poor laundry/storage facilities or storing them away whilst still damp? The problem was, the odour clung to the skin after showering, so washing hands afterwards had no affect due to having to dry them with the same towels. We used our 'hand and body' moisturizing-cream to nullify the odour. The owners should install Airwick type machines in rooms if only to endorse the fact that the place is clean (which it was, but the presence of the odour left a bad taste in the mouth). We could have said something to the owners, but we waited until the second day to see if it was a one-off, which it wasn't. The responsibility is always with the owners. A good chef always uses the taste-test, and there's nothing wrong with Hoteliers using the smell-test. My wife does it, and no doubt, millions of other housewives do it too. Would we stay there again? Probably not again, due to our experience. However, we would have given 4 Stars had it not been for the odour problem. Hopefully, the owners will be more diligent in future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ditisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowanbank, Owner at Rowanbank Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble for such a comprehensive review.
We are sorry that you thought your room, and all of the linen had an odour that you found distasteful. We cannot explain this and wish that you had said something when you were here. We could then have investigated.
Perhaps during this very humid weather, you opened the window, and the smell of the damp garden permeated your room?
Many thanks for your tips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

On road parking to the front of the house, the room was clean and equipped with tea making facilities, located within walking distance of the high street shops where there is a chip shop and café, tv signal and wi fi were good. The reason I gave this only a 3 out of 5 was that the toilet pan in my room was awkward, it was installed side ways in the narrow ensuite, when sat my knees were against the wall. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Friendly people the owners, Good breakfast, Tired rooms, pathetic shower (just a dribble- no pressure). Awful bed.
Two of us stayed to fish the Annan river based on reviews read. Nothing wrong with the place, clean, food OK and the owners friendly. Nothing to make it stand out or excellent though. I asked the owner about my shower and she said that was normal and she would have to ask a plumber. My room was small and at the back upstairs and felt very 1970's. The bed was a long way from being comfortable either.
I think it does well because it is seen as good value. Sometimes paying a little more is worth it. That works as punters and should also be considered by owners when investing. Upgrade this place into the 21C if and when you can.

Room Tip: See if they have better rooms. Perhaps those at the front of the building are better. I was given hobsons choice, even though it was quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank organised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked after reading reviews on here and needing a regular place to stay for work.
Friendly welcome and a lovely quiet room!
Great advice on local eateries!
Hassle free from booking to stay and a lovely breakfast with great thick bacon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

So this was just a quick overnight stay whilst working away, selected via an internet search.

On arrival, lovely old building and a very friendly welcome. Room was large, warm and comfortable, perhaps not the most deluxe, however when balanced against the overnight rate it represented good value. Breakfast choice was ample and very tasty.

In summary, good hosts, clean and comfortable room, nice breakfast, easy parking and modest rates - what more could you want for a short stay?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTowelThief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews